Main menu

Hon. G. Richard Bevan

Justice G. Richard Bevan was born and raised in Twin Falls, graduating from Twin Falls High School in 1977. He received his undergraduate degree from Brigham Young University and graduated in 1987 from J. Reuben Clark Law School. He was admitted to the Idaho State Bar that same year.

Justice Bevan was a practicing attorney in Twin Falls for over sixteen years before his appointment to the bench by Governor Dirk Kempthorne in November 2003.  He also served as Twin Falls County Prosecutor from 1993 to 1997.  He was certified as a family and civil mediator in 1999, successfully mediating over 200 cases before becoming a judge.    

While a practicing attorney, Justice Bevan served as President of the Fifth District Bar Association and he has served on statewide law-related committees.  He has been the presiding judge of both the Fifth Judicial District Mental Health Court and the Veteran’s Treatment Court.  Justice Bevan also served for nearly eight years as the Administrative District Judge for Idaho’s Fifth Judicial District.  He presently serves as the chair of the Idaho Supreme Court’s Drug and Mental Health Court Coordinating Committee and the Security Committee.

Justice Bevan is a 2014 graduate of the National Center for State Courts Toll Fellowship Program, a national leadership training program based in Lexington, Kentucky. He was involved in youth programs in Twin Falls for years and is a past president and board member of the Magic Valley YFCA and the CARES advisory board. He is the recipient of the Idaho Business Review 2019 Leaders in Law Lifetime Achievement Award for advances he has made in the law.

Justice Bevan has been married to his wife, Pam for 40 years.  They are the parents of five children engaged in various stages of adult life.  They are the proud grandparents of eleven. 

As the Third Branch of Government, we provide access to justice through the timely, fair, and impartial resolution of cases.


Members of the
Idaho Supreme Court

Chief Justice Roger S. Burdick
Justice Robyn M. Brody
Justice G. Richard Bevan
Justice John R. Stegner
Justice Gregory W. Moeller

Members of the
Idaho Court of Appeals

Chief Judge Molly J Huskey
Judge David W. Gratton
Judge Jessica M. Lorello
Judge Amanda K. Brailsford



Promoting Openness In The Courts
Do you have suggestions about how we can better serve you?