Main menu

Idaho Appellate Rule 11.2. Signing of Notice of Appeals, Petitions, Motions, Briefs and Other Papers; Sanctions.

(a) Every notice of appeal, petition, motion, brief and other document of a party represented by an attorney shall be signed by at least one (1) licensed attorney of record of the state of Idaho, in the attorney's  individual name, whose address shall be stated before the same may be filed. A party who is not represented by an attorney shall sign the notice  of appeal, petition, motion, brief or other document and state the party's  address. The signature of an attorney or party constitutes a certificate  that the attorney or party has read the notice of appeal, petition, motion,  brief or other document; that to the best of the signer's knowledge,  information, and belief after reasonable inquiry it is well grounded in  fact and is warranted by existing law or a good faith argument for the  extension, modification, or reversal of existing law, and that it is not  interposed for any improper purpose, such as to harass or to cause  unnecessary delay or needless increase in the cost of litigation. If the  notice of appeal, petition, motion, brief, or other document is signed in  violation of this rule, the court, upon motion or upon its own initiative,  shall impose upon the person who signed it, a represented party, or both,  an appropriate sanction, which may include an order to pay to the other  party or parties the amount of the reasonable expenses incurred because of  the filing of the notice of appeal, petition, motion, brief or other  document including a reasonable attorney's fee.  


(b)  The court may declare a party a vexatious litigant pursuant to Idaho Court Administrative Rule 59. 


(Adopted June 15, 1987, effective November 1, 1987; amended November 20, 2012, effective January 1, 2013.)

As the Third Branch of Government, we provide access to justice through the timely, fair, and impartial resolution of cases.


Members of the
Idaho Supreme Court

Chief Justice G Richard Bevan
Justice Robyn M. Brody
Justice John R. Stegner
Justice Gregory W. Moeller
Justice Colleen D. Zahn

Members of the
Idaho Court of Appeals

Chief Judge Jessica M. Lorello
Judge David W. Gratton
Judge Molly J Huskey



Promoting Openness In The Courts
Do you have suggestions about how we can better serve you?