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In the Supreme Court of the State of Idaho

IN RE: AMENDEMENTS TO IDAHO )
JUVENILE RULE 26 ) ORDER
)

The Court has reviewed a recommendation from the Juvenile Justice Advisory Committee
(JJAC) to amend the Idaho Juvenile Rules, and the Court being fully informed;
NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the Idaho Juvenile Rules are

hereby, amended as follows:

Idaho Juvenile Rule 26. Discretionary Waiver of Jurisdiction under the Juvenile
Corrections Act

(a) Upon the filing of a written Motion to Waive Jurisdiction on a misdemeanor or felony
charged under the Juvenile Corrections Act by the prosecuting attorney, the juvenile, or
the court, the court shall:

1. Give written notice of the Waiver Hearing at least 10 days before the date of the
hearing to the juvenile, the juvenile's parent(s), guardian, or custodian, prosecuting
attorney, probation officer (if any) and Department of Juvenile Corrections district
liaison. The notice shall inform the juvenile of his or her right to counsel. Service shall be
made in the manner provided by I.J.R. 5.

2. Order a full and complete investigation of the circumstances of the alleged offenses
and the factors as listed in I.C. Section 20-508 (8)(a) through (f) to be conducted by
county probation, or such other agency or investigation officer designated by the court,
who shall submit a written report to the court, prosecuting attorney and juvenile or
counsel for the juvenile at least 5 days prior to the hearing.

3. The court shall make findings as to whether or not the juvenile should, in the
discretion of the court, be waived under the Juvenile Corrections Act.

(b) At the hearing, the court may rely on the investigative report, the juvenile's criminal record in
the state of Idaho, certified court records from other states and county probation records. The
prosecuting attorney, juvenile, or attorney for the juvenile may present evidence in support
of, or opposed to, the contents of the reports and records before the court and the waiver
request. Each party shall have the right to present such evidence as may be relevant to the
issue of waiver, and the court may consider such hearsay as may be contained in the
investigative report, criminal records, or other relevant evidence submitted to the court.
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(c) The juvenile may stipulate to waiver but said stipulation shall be reduced to writing or placed
upon the record in open court.

(d) Upon waiver, the prosecuting attorney shall file a criminal complaint within 24 hours,

excluding Saturdays, Sundays, or holidays, and the court shall remand-the-juvenile-to-the
eustody-of the-county-sheriff-and order that an initial appearance on the criminal complaint
shall be held pursuant to LCR. 5 JEhej%wemle—shal-}—be—held—W%hea{—beﬁd—e&a—feleﬂy—er

(e) Before sentencing, a juvenile under the age of 18 may not be held in a jail or lockup for
adults unless a court finds, after a hearing and in writing, that it is in the interest of justice. In
determining whether it is in the interest of justice to permit a juvenile to be held in any jail or
lockup for adults, or have sight or sound contact with adult inmates, a court shall consider:

1. the age of the juvenile;

2. the physical and mental maturity of the juvenile;

3. the present mental state of the juvenile, including whether the juvenile presents an
imminent risk of harm to the juvenile:

4. the nature and circumstances of the alleged offense;

5. the juvenile’s history of prior delinquent acts;

6. the relative ability of the available adult and juvenile detention facilities to not only
meet the specific needs of the juvenile but also to protect the safety of the public as well
as other detained youth; and

7. any other relevant factor.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that this order and these amendments shall be effective July
1,2022.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that the above designation of the striking of words from
the Rules by lining through them, and the designation of the addition of new portions of the
Rules by underlining such new portion is for the purposes of information only as amended, and
NO OTHER AMENDMENTS ARE INTENDED. The lining through and underlining shall not
be considered a part of the permanent Idaho Juvenile Rules.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that the Clerk of the Court shall cause notice of this
Order to be published in one issue of The Advocate.
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ATTEST:

DATED this 2@ day of April, 2022.

By Osder of}the

/6(. Richard Bevan
Chief Justice, Idaho Supreme Court

I, Melanie Gagnepain, Clerk of the Supreme Court/
Court of Appeals of the State of Idaho, do hereby

Certil{)tha the above is a true and correct copy of the
X entered in the above entitied

cause and now on record in my omce.lwrrgess my
hand and the Seal of this Court = -
Melanie Gagnepain, Clerk

o [\ Nf—
/

Deputy
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