E-Filing in Idaho
and Envelope Fees

WHAT IS AN “ENVELOPE” AND WHY DOES IT INVOLVE A FEE?

When parties in a civil court case in Idaho electronically submit case documents for
filing, the e-filing software provider, Tyler Technologies, charges a fee. This fee is for
processing each set of filings through what are called “electronic envelopes.”

Beginning Dec. 15, 2023, civil filers will pay this fee of $5 per envelope.

This fee does not apply in criminal cases or in certain other exceptions. It will be a
recoverable cost of litigation through existing court rules.

PAYING FOR COURT TECHNOLOGY

Today’s courts rely on a robust suite of

technology including digital case files, Court Technology Fund
videoconferencing, online fine and fee Financial ACtiVity
payments, and underlying networking

and security systems necessary to the $13,000,000

system’s operation.

$11,000,000
Funding for this technology — and for
most of the Judicial Branch’s $9,000,000
information technology employees — $7,000,000
primarily comes from the Court B
Technology Fund, a dedicated fund $5,000,000
established by Idaho Code section 1-1623.
Nine-tenths of the fund’s revenue is $3,000,000
provided through fees created by the $1,000,000

Legislature and imposed in criminal and
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civil court cases.
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Revenues in this fund have failed to keep

pace with the costs of supporting access
to justice in a modern court system. Court fines and fees that support the fund have declined an average of 5.2% each
year over the last three years. Court technology costs have increased about 9.3% each year for the last five years.

The Idaho Supreme Court is actively reassessing its technology costs and developing a long-term funding

structure for these operations. Meanwhile, it is taking short-term steps to preserve existing services. The Court
Technology Fund previously covered the envelope fees, but no longer has the resources to do so.

HOW MANY ENVELOPES DO I NEED?

Idaho Rule for Electronic Filing and Service 6(c) states “Documents that pertain to the same case filed and/or served
through the electronic filing system at approximately the same time must be submitted in the same envelope.”

In short, if you file multiple documents at a time in one single case, you should file them together in one envelope and
pay a single envelope fee.

If your envelope is rejected and you are refiling, copy the envelope — do not build a new one. This is required by rule
and will avoid an extra fee.



FEES AND COURT ACCESS

E-Filing in Idaho
and Envelope Fees

This fee is not a requirement to file in an Idaho court. Any party who is required to file electronically by Rule 4 of the
Idaho Rules for Electronic Filing and Service may choose to do so using a kiosk at their local courthouse, paying any
applicable fees by cash or check at the office of the clerk of the district court or by credit or debit card at the kiosk.

For civil filings in this manner, the filer will not be charged the envelope fee.

WHO IS EXEMPT?

This fee does not apply in
criminal cases, nor does it apply to
service-only envelopes.

Filers who are exempt from

paying court filing fees under the
Idaho Constitution, statute, court rule,
court order or other regulation also
will not be charged this envelope fee.
That list includes:

Users:

Government agencies and filers
who represent the state of Idaho
Indigent filers as formally
designated by a court

Pro bono filers as identified in
Idaho Rule of Civil Procedure 10.1
and Idaho Rule of Family Law
Procedure 201(e)

Mediators

Supervised access providers
Parenting time evaluators,
mental health evaluators,
domestic violence evaluators

and similar roles

Guardians ad litem
Court-appointed special advocates
Filers who file documents

at the request or under the
auspices of a court, as described
in ICAR 32(g)(17)

Case types:

Petitions for civil protection
orders under Idaho Code sections
18-7907, 39-6304 or 39-6306A
Child protective cases
Commitment cases brought
under chapters 3 or 4 of Title 66,
Idaho Code

All administrative case types

HOW DO I FILE IF I AM EXEMPT FROM THIS FEE?

If you are a filer who is exempt from paying the S5

e-filing fee or you are filing in a case type or a document
that is exempt, you will need to set up and use a no-fee or
“waiver” payment account in your File & Serve account. This
is an easy process (though attorneys, please note your firm

administrator is the only one who can add or amend
payment accounts):

1.

Go to the big, orange “Actions”

button and select “Payment

Accounts.”

Then click “+ Add Payment

Account.”

Give your new account a name. Users often simply name

it “Fee Exemption.”

Select “Payment Account Type.” One of your options

Payment Accounts

will be “Waiver” -
pick that.

Click “Save
Changes.” Now,
the account will be
available for you
to select whenever
you file.

When you are
filing something
exempt from the
fee and get to

the payment
account question,
just select your
waiver account as
the account you
want to use to pay
for the filing.
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Search “Odyssey File and Serve” at https://vimeo.com/search or follow this
link for an Idaho Supreme Court video that, around 6 minutes and

45 seconds in, shows setting up a waiver account.



https://vimeo.com/292411859
https://vimeo.com/292411859
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