Court E-Filing Fees in Idaho:
Frequently Asked Questions

IS THERE A FEE TO USE E-FILING?

The vendor that provides the Idaho Supreme Court’s e-filing software charges a $5 fee in most civil cases for
processing sets of filings through electronic envelopes. This fee does not apply to filers who are exempt from paying
court filing fees under existing laws or regulations. More information on this fee and a list of filers who are exempt
from it are available at isc.idaho.gov.

Electronic filers will also be charged a convenience fee that is assessed to cover credit card processing fees.

HOW DO I FILE IF I AM EXEMPT FROM THE $5 E-FILING FEE?

If you are a filer who is exempt from paying a S5 e-filing fee OR you are filing in a case type or a document that is
exempt, you will need to set up and use a no-fee or “waiver” payment account in your File & Serve account. This is an
easy process (though attorneys, please note your firm administrator is the only one who can add or amend payment
accounts). Search “Odyssey File and Serve” at vimeo.com/search for a video that includes setting up a waiver account.
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WHAT IF I NEED TO PAY THE FILING FEE IN CASH?

You may file online using credit or debit cards. Cash payments for making your filings can still be made at the court.

WHAT DO I PUT FOR THE “PARTY RESPONSIBLE FOR FEES”?

The e-filing software asks that you select from a dropdown the “Party Responsible for Fees.” Select the party for
whom the documents are being filed.

Some self-represented litigants have questioned whether they should select the opposing party based on the belief that
they will prevail in the end and a judge will order the opposing party to pay their court filing fees. While this

may or may not occur, this filing field is a feature for attorneys to record, for internal purposes, who is —
responsible for reimbursing the filing fee. As such, the correct selection is the party for whom the documents [M

are being filed.
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WHAT ARE “OPTIONAL SERVICES”?

The Optional Services dropdown serves two purposes: Optional Services
1. It allows filers to select fees not associated with specific @ Add New Optional Service
pleadings.
2. It provides a means for filers to pay for court services. Optional Service Quantity Fee Amount

Examples of optional services include paying an initial
appearance fee, paying for court-mandated classes, or for Optional Services

paying for court service by registered mail. OrdiEnal tarvios

After you have loaded your first document and clicked “Save [ Click to select Optional Service |
Changes,” the “Optional Services” button will appear.

The dropdown contains the various services available and the

associated fees to attach to that particular document. If you have multiple documents to load in this single e-filing
session (also referred to as loading them in one envelope), be careful to link the particular service to the particular
document. For example, if you have four documents to load but only one requires a certified copy, be careful to select
the service of certified copy for that particular loaded document. This may not apply to the fee to have the court mail
and serve court-signed pleadings.

Initial Appearance

If you are making your initial appearance by Answer or Notice of Appearance you must select the Optional Service
“Initial Appearance” so to pay the required filing fee. Failure to do so will result in the rejection of your pleading by
the court with a request that you resubmit with payment.

Mailing / Service Fee
One advantage of the electronic case management system is the court will serve Optional Services
any signed orders or notice submitted by the parties via email to those attorneys or
parties who use electronic filing. But what about cases that involve a

self-represented litigant or a party who simply never appeared in the lawsuit, but Click to select Optional Service
per the rules requires service? This fee covers mail service by the court for parties |
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who do not participate in electronic filing. °‘|
Registered Mail - $10.60 each

As described above, select “Optional Services” after you have loaded your Mailing Fee (1-4) pages - $1.25 each

document(s). Then select the appropriate mailing fee based upon the number of Mailing Fee (5-9) pages - $2.50 each

pages your pleadlng 18. I Mailing Fee (10-25) pages - $6.25 each .
1: : . : Mailing Fee (26-50) pages - $11.50

Next, select how many mailings you need sent by the court. This will most likely be

determined by how many different parties need to be served by mail. sach - = filing

|

Thinking of this in terms of paper simplifies the process. One example: You are filing

in a case with three other parties. Two are accepting service through electronic filing and one is a self-represented
party who has elected to opt out of electronic filing and service. You are filing four documents: a motion, proposed
notice of hearing (two pages), affidavit of fact witness, and proposed order (three pages). As such, there are two
documents that need to be forwarded via mail to the self-represented party after they are signed by the court.

Typically where the filer has one case with one envelope to be served on one party, you only need to select one mailing
fee for the mailing. In this case, however, the notice of hearing would be served before the hearing and the proposed
order (if the motion is granted) would be signed after the hearing.

Therefore the filer should select either A) “Mailing Fee (1-4) pages” and select the Quantity as two as the court is

making two separate mailings; or B) select one “Mailing Fee (1-4) pages” when you load the Proposed Notice

and another “Mailing Fee (1-4) pages” when you load the Proposed Order. Either way, the filer should use the

“Filing Comments” field in “Filings” to provide instruction to the clerk regarding what services you have —3
purchased and how specifically you need the clerk to serve the court-executed document. [M




