I.A.R. 14 Time for Filing Appeals

Idaho Appellate Rule 14. Time for Filing Appeals.

All appeals permitted or authorized by these rules, except as provided in Rule 12, shall be taken and made in the manner and within the time limits as follows:

(a) Appeals From the District Court. Any appeal as a matter of right from the district court may be made only by physically filing a notice of appeal with the clerk of the district court within 42 days from the date evidenced by the filing stamp of the clerk of the court on any judgment or order of the district court appealable as a matter of right in any civil or criminal action. As used in these rules, "physical filing" includes electronic filing in conformance with the Idaho Rules of Electronic Filing and Service. The time for an appeal from any civil judgment or order in an action is terminated by the filing of a timely motion which, if granted, could affect any findings of fact, conclusions of law or any judgment in the action (except motions under Rule 60 of the Idaho Rules of Civil Procedure or motions regarding costs or attorneys fees), in which case the appeal period for all judgments or orders commences to run upon the date of the clerk's filing stamp on the order deciding such motion. The time for an appeal from any criminal judgment, order or sentence in an action is terminated by the filing of a motion within fourteen (14) days of the entry of the judgment which, if granted, could affect the judgment, order or sentence in the action, in which case the appeal period for the judgment and sentence commences to run upon the date of the clerk's filing stamp on the order deciding such motion. If, at the time of judgment, the district court retains jurisdiction pursuant to Idaho Code § 19-2601(4), the length of time to file an appeal from the sentence contained in the criminal judgment shall be enlarged by the length of time between entry of the judgment of conviction and entry of the order relinquishing jurisdiction or placing the defendant on probation; provided, however, that all other appeals challenging the judgment must be brought within 42 days of that judgment. Provided, if a criminal judgment imposes the sentence of death, the time within which to file a notice of appeal does not commence to run until the death warrant is signed and filed by the court.

(b) Appeals From an Administrative Agency. An appeal as a matter of right from an administrative agency may be made only by physically filing a notice of appeal with the Public Utilities Commission or the Industrial Commission within 42 days from the date evidenced by the filing stamp of the clerk or secretary of the administrative agency on any decision, order or award appealable as a matter of right. The time for an appeal from such decision, order or award of the industrial commission is terminated by a timely motion for rehearing or reconsideration of the decision or order which, if granted, could affect the decision, order or award (except motions regarding costs or attorneys fees), in which case the appeal period commences to run upon the date of the filing stamp on the order or decision denying such motion or the decision on rehearing or reconsideration. The time for an appeal from such decision, order or award of the public utilities commission begins to run when an application for rehearing is denied, or, if the application is granted, after the date evidenced by the filing stamp on the decision on rehearing.

(Adopted March 25, 1977, effective July 1, 1977; amended March 31, 1978, effective July 1, 1978; amended April 3, 1981, effective July 1, 1981; amended April 18, 1983, effective July 1, 1983; amended March 30, 1984, effective July 1, 1984; amended March 21, 2007; effective July 1, 2007, amended March 29, 2010, effective July 1, 2010; amended March 18, 2011, effective July 1, 2011; amended May 1, 2024, effective July 1, 2024.)

Source URL: https://isc.idaho.gov/iar14