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In the Supréme Court of the State of Idaho

IN RE: AMENDMENT OF IDAHO

INFRACTION RULE 9(b) ORDER

The Court, having reviewed and approved a recommendation to amend the Infraction Penalty
Schedule in accord with new legislation; »

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Idaho Infraction Rule 9(b) as it
appears in the volume published by the Idaho Code Commission be, and is hereby, amended as

follows:
Rule 9. Judgment — Fixed penalty plus court costs for infractions-- Withheld judgment and
suspended penalties prohibited—Deferred payment agreements.

%ok

(b) Fixed Penalty and Costs for Infraction. The entry of a judgment for an infraction under
this rule shall order the defendant to pay a dollar amount for a fixed penalty and court costs in the
following amounts:

INFRACTION OFFENSE TOTAL AMOUNT
(Fixed Penalty Plus Court costs)

(1)(a)Failure to fasten safety restraint,
operator/occupant age 18 or older,
Section 49-673(3), Idaho Code.
(Fixed penalty $10.00, $5.00 of
which is to be sent to State’s
Catastrophic Health Care Fund). $10.00
(b) Failure to fasten safety restraint,
operator 18 years or older with
occupant(s) under 18 years of age
failing to wear safety restraint.
Section 49-673(3), Idaho Code.
(Fixed penalty $10.00, $5.00 of
which is to be sent to State’s
Catastrophic Health Care Fund). $10.00




1
i
i

(c) Failure to fasten safety restraint, operator under
18 years of age or operator under 18 who has
occupant(s) under 18 years of age failing to wear
safety restraint-single citation only, Section 49-673(4),
Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $10.00, $5.00 of which is
to be sent to State’s Catastrophic Health Care Fund,
court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee
$5.00, peace officers training fee
$15.00, court technology
fund fee $10.00, and emergency
surcharge fee $10.00). $66.50
(2) Failure to restrain child in car safety
seat. Section 49-672, Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty
$27.50, court costs $16.50, 1.C., § 31-3201A(c),
county justice fund fee $5.00 I.C. § 31-3201(3),
and, peace officers training fee $15.00
I.C. § 31-3201B, court technology
fund fee $10.00 1.C. § 31-3201(5), and
emergency surcharge fee $10.00). $84.00
(3) Pedestrian and bicycle infractions. (Fixed
penalty $5.00, court costs $16.50, county
justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training
fee $15.00, court technology fund fee
$10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00). $61.50
(4) Speeding traffic infractions.
(a) 1 to 15 miles per hour above speed
limit. (Fixed penalty $33.50, Court
costs $16.50, county justice fund
fee $5.00, peace officers training fee
$15.00, court technology
fund fee $10.00, and emergency
surcharge fee $10.00). $90.00
(b) 16 or more miles per hour above
speed limit. (Fixed penalty $98.50,
Court costs $16.50, county justice
fund fee $5.00, peace officers training
fee $15.00, court technology
fund fee $10.00, and emergency
surcharge fee $10.00). $155.00
(5) Other moving traffic infractions. (Fixed
penalty $33.50, court costs $16.50, county
justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers
training fee $15.00, court technology
fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge
fee $10.00). $90.00
(6) Speeding in a construction zone.
I.C. § 49-657 (Fixed penalty $50.00,
court costs $16.50, county justice fund
fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00,
court technology fund fee $10.00, and
emergency surcharge fee $10.00). $106.50
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(7) Speeding in a school zone. 1.C.
§ 49-658 (Fixed penalty $100.00,
court costs $16.50, county justice
fund fee $5.00, peace officers training
fee $15.00, court technology fund

fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

(8) Permitting unauthorized child under
age 18 to operate vehicle. Section
49-333(1), Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty
$54.50, court costs $16.50, county justice
fund fee $5.00, peace officers training
fee $15.00, court technology
fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge
fee $10.00).

(9) Permitting any unauthorized person to
operate vehicle. Section 49-333(2), Idaho
Code. (Fixed penalty $54.50, court costs $16.50,
county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers
training fee $15.00, court technology
fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge
fee $10.00).

(10) Renting vehicle to unauthorized driver or failing
to inspect license. Section 49-334, Idaho Code.
(Fixed penalty $54.50, court costs $16.50, county
justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee
$15.00, court technology fund fee $10.00,
and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

(11) Expired license. Section 49-319, Idaho Code.
(Fixed penalty $44.50, court costs $16.50, county
justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee
$15.00, court technology fund fee $10.00, and
emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

(12) Violating restricted license. Section 49-317,
Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $44.50, court costs
$16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace
officers training fee $15.00, court
technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency
surcharge fee $10.00).

(13) Operating vehicle under out of state license
while suspended. Section 49-329, Idaho Code.
(Fixed penalty $100.00, court costs $16.50,
county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers
training fee $15.00, court technology fund
fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

(14) Failure to carry registration in vehicle
(dismissed if registration is shown). Section
49-427, Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $10.50,
court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00,
peace officers training fee $15.00, court
technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency
surcharge fee $10.00).

$156.50

$111.00

$111.00

$111.00

$101.00

$101.00

$156.50

$67.00




(15) Failure to display license plate. Section
49-428, 1daho Code. (Fixed penalty $10.50,
court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00,
peace officers training fee $15.00, court
technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency
surcharge fee $10.00).

(16) Operating vehicle without registration.

Section 49-456(1), Idaho Code. (Fixed

penalty $44.50, court costs $16.50, county
justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee
$15.00, court technology Fund fee $10.00,

and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

(17) Fictitious display of license plates.

Section 49-456(3), Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty
$58.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund
fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00,
court technology Fund fee $10.00, and
emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

(18) Lending or permitting another to use
registration or license plate. Section 49-456(4),
Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $58.50, court
costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00,
peace officers training fee $15.00, court
technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency
surcharge fee $10.00).

(19) Failing to surrender registration and

license plate upon revocation or suspension.
Section 49-456(5), Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty
$44.50, court costs $16.50, county justice
fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee
$15.00, court technology fund fee $10.00),
and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

(20) Use of false or fictitious name in

application for registration or concealing
material facts. Section 49-456(6), Idaho Code.

(Fixed penalty $100.00, court costs $16.50, county

justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee
$15.00, court technology fund fee $10.00, and
emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

(21) Failure to redeem an abandoned vehicle.
Section 49-1802, Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty
$10.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund
fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00,
court technology Fund fee $10.00, abandoned
vehicle fee $150.00, and emergency surcharge
fee $10.00).

(22) Texting while driving. Section 49-1401A, Idaho
Code. (Fixed penalty $25.00, court costs $16.50,

county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training

fee $15.00, court technology fund fee $10.00, and
emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

$67.00

$101.00

$115.00

$115.00

$101.00

$156.50

$217.00

$81.50




(23) Non-moving traffic infractions.

(Fixed penalty $10.50, court costs $16.50,
county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers
training fee $15.00, court technology fund fee
$10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

(24) Special parking infractions. Recreational
parking. Section 67-7115, Idaho Code. and illegal
parking in state park, Section 67-4237 Idaho Code,
(Fixed penalty $25.00, court costs $16.50, county
justice fund fee $5.00, court technology
fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge
fee $10.00 -- No peace officers training fee).

(25) Disability parking violations. Unauthorized
disability parking, Section 49-213, Idaho Code,
and unauthorized use of disability plate or
placard, Section 49-410, Idaho Code. (Fixed
penalty $100.00, court costs $16.50, county justice

fund fee $5.00, court technology fund fee
$10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00 —
No peace officers training fee).

(26) Other parking infractions and failure to pay parking
infractions unless otherwise provided by statute
or ordinance. (Fixed penalty $5.00, court costs $16.50,
county justice fund fee $5.00, court technology
fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee
$10.00 -- No peace officers training fee).

(27) Operating a motor vehicle without insurance.
Sections 49-1229 and 49-1428, Idaho Code and
failure to have certificate of insurance, Section
49-1232, Idaho Code. (First offense only, second
or subsequent offense is a misdemeanor.) (Fixed
penalty $75.00, court costs $16.50, county justice
fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00,
court technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency
surcharge fee $10.00).

(28) Trucking overweight. Section 49-438, Idaho
Code, and Sections 49-1001, 49-1002, 49-1004,

49-1005, Idaho Code.

1-1000 pounds overweight (Fixed penalty $5.00,
court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00,
peace officers training fee $15.00, court
technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency
surcharge fee $10.00.)

1001-2000 pounds overweight (Fixed penalty
$15.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee
$5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00,

court technology fund fee $10.00, and

emergency surcharge fee $10.00.)

$67.00

$66.50

$141.50

$46.50

$131.50

$61.50

$71.50




2001-4000 pounds overweight (Fixed penalty
$25.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee
$5.00, peace officer's training fee $15.00,
court technology fund fee $10.00, and
emergency surcharge fee $10.00.)
- For multiple infractions see I.C. § 49-1013(4).
(29) Fish and game violations made infractions
by Section 36-1401, Idaho Code. (Fixed
penalty $15.50, court costs $16.50, county justice
fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee
$15.00, court technology fund fee $10.00, and
emergency surcharge fee $10.00).
(30) Fish and game offenses in Sections 36-1401(a)l1.

(K) through (L) or (a)2. (S) through (Y), Idaho Code.

(Fixed penalty $250.00, court costs $16.50, county
justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee
$15.00, court technology fund fee $10.00, and
emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

(31) All-terrain vehicle and snowmobile infractions.

Driving on highway. Section 67-7109, Idaho Code.

(Fixed penalty $100.00, court costs $16.50, county
justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee
$15.00, court technology fund fee $10.00, and
emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

(32) Parks and recreation violations made
infractions by Section 67-4223, Idaho Code.
(Fixed penalty $15.50, court costs $16.50, county
justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee
$15.00, court technology fund fee $10.00, and
emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

(33) All other all-terrain vehicle and snowmobile
infractions. Sections 67-7102 through 67-7112,
67-7122, 67-7125, Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty
$25.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund
fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00,
court technology fund fee $10.00, and
emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

(34) Renting a watercraft without safety devices
and safety decal. Section 67-7078 (Fixed penalty
$25.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund
fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00,
court technology fund fee $10.00, and
emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

(35) Failure to carry required equipment in watercraft.
(IDAPA 26.01.30 Parks and Recreation) Sections
67-7002 and 67-7015, Idaho Code. (Fixed
penalty $42.50, court costs $16.50, county justice
fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00,
court technology fund fee $10.00, and
emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

$81.50

$72.00

$306.50

$156.50

$72.00

$81.50

$81.50

$99.00
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(36) Improper waterskiing. Section 67-7024, Idaho
Code. (Fixed penalty $42.50, ourt costs $16.50,
county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers
training fee $15.00, court technology fund fee
$10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

(37) Permitting smoking in public building or
office. Section 39-5506, Idaho Code.

(Fixed penalty $67.50, court costs $16.50,
county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officer
training fee $15.00, court technology fund fee
$10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

(38) Refusing to extinguish tobacco
product in public building or office. Section
39-5507, Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $17.50,
court costs $16.50, county justice fund
fee $5.00, peace officer training fee $15.00,
court technology fund fee $10.00, and
emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

(39) Littering from vehicle. (First or second offense).
Section 18-3906, Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $150.00,
court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00,
peace officers training fee $15.00, court
technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge
fee $10.00).

(40) Placing debris on public or private property
(Frist offense). Section 18-7031,Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty
$150.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00,
peace officers training fee $15.00, court
technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency
surcharge fee $10.00).

(41) Flooding a highway. (First offense). Section 18-3908,
Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $50.00, court costs $16.50,
county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee
$15.00, court technology fund fee $10.00, and
emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

(42) Curfew violation by a minor. Section 20-549
Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $150.00, court costs $16.50,
county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee
$15.00, court technology fund fee $10.00, and
emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

(43) Tobacco or electronic cigarettes, possession, use or
purchase by minor. Section 39-5703(1), Idaho Code.
(Fixed penalty $17.50, court costs $16.50, county justice
fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00,
court technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency
surcharge fee $10.00).

$99.00

$124.00

$74.00

$206.50

$206.50

$106.50

$206.50

$74.00




(44) Tobacco or electronic cigarettes, minor selling, distributing

or providing false identification to obtain. Sections 39-5703(2)

or (3), Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $200.00, court costs $16.50,

county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00,

court technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge

fee $10.00). $256.50
(45) Alter fireworks, or sell, use at time not permitted.

Sections 39-2609(1) or (3), Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $100.00

court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers

training fee $15.00, court technology fund fee $10.00, and

emergency surcharge fee $10.00). $156.50
(46) Minor in possession of alcohol. I.C.§ 23-604.

(Fixed penalty $300.00, court costs $17.50, county justice

fund fee $10.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, court technology

fund fee $10.00, emergency surcharge fee $50.00, victim

notification fee $15.00, peace officer disability fund $3.00,

reimbursement fund $37.00, domestic violence fund fee

$30.00) $487.50

(47) Minor selling, serving or dispensing alcohol. I.C.§ 23-949.

(Fixed penalty $300.00, court costs $17.50, county justice

fund fee $10.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, court technology

fund fee $10.00, emergency surcharge fee $50.00, victim

notification fee $15.00, peace officer disability fund $3.00,

reimbursement fund $37.00, domestic violence fund fee

$30.00) $487.50
(48) Alcohol beverage- consume or possess open container by

passenger. I.C. § 23-505. (Fixed penalty $15.50, court costs $16.50,

county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00

court technology fund fee $10.00, emergency surcharge fee $10.00,

domestic violence fund fee $30.00). $102.00
(469) Other infractions. (Fixed penalty $15.50,

court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee

$5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00,

court technology fund fee $10.00, and

emergency surcharge fee $10.00). $72.00
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IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that this order and these amendments shall be effective nunc
pro tunc to the 1st day of July, 2016.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that the above designation of the striking of words from
the Rules by lining through them, and the designation of the addition of new portions of the
Rules by underlining such new portion is for the purposes of information only as amended, and

NO OTHER AMENDMENTS ARE INTENDED. The lining through and underlining shall not




be considered a part of the permanent Idaho Infraction Rules.
IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that the Clerk of the Court shall cause notice of this
Order to be published in one issue of The Advocate.

DATED this__| 2 day of July, 2016.
By Order of the Supreme Court
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[N Qo QY Jepe—

Daniel T. Eismann, Vice Chief Justice

ATTEST: Hamber Grove fo,
Clerk

i, Staphan W. Kenyon, Clerk of the Supreme Couift

of the State of ldaho, do hereby ceriify that the
above is a true-and correct copy of theL2ra=r
entered in the above entitied cause end now on
record in my office.

y hand and the Seal of this Court_L->'*




