In the Supreme Court of the State of Idaho

IN RE: AMENDMENTS TO IDAHO CRIMINAL )
RULES 4, 5. 5.1, 5.3, 11, 32, 33, 35, 48, Appendix A ) ORDER
AND ADOPTION OF NEW RULE 37 )

The Court, having received a recommendation to amend the Idaho Criminal Rules, and being
fully informed as to the recommendation:

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that the Idaho Criminal Rules are amended as
follows:

1. That Rule 4 be amended as follows:

Rule 4. Arrest Warrant; Summons; Determination of Probable Cause
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(d) Form; Transmission.

(1) Arrest Warrant. The arrest warrant must be signed by the magistrate and must:_be on the
Supreme Court form found in Appendix A.

The amount of bail may be determined by the issuing magistrate and stated on the warrant at
the time of its issuance.

(2) Transmission of a Warrant of Arrest. A warrant of arrest may be sent by email or by
facsimile process to any peace officer or other officer serving the warrant.

(3) Summons. The summons must be signed by either the magistrate or the clerk of the court
and must contain the same information as the warrant. The summons must be on the Supreme
Court form found in Appendix A.
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2. That Rule 5 be amended as follows:

Rule 5. Initial Appearance Before Magistrate; Determination of Probable Cause; Advice to

Defendant; Plea in Misdemeanors; Initial Appearance on Grand Jury Indictment
k%%
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(e) Advice to Defendant on Initial Appearance. At the initial appearance, the magistrate must
advise the defendant of the following:

(1) the defendant is not required to make a statement and that any statement made may
be used against the defendant;

(2) the nature of the charge or charges against the defendant;
(3) the defendant's right to bail;
(4) the defendant's right to counsel as provided by law;

(5) if in a county other than that in which the offense occurred, of the defendant's right
to proceed under Rule 20 of these rules;

(6) if in the county in which the offense occurred, of defendant’s right to a preliminary
hearing, if provided by law, the nature of a preliminary hearing, and the effect of a
waiver of a preliminary hearing, and

(7) the defendant’s right to communicate with counsel and immediate family, and that
reasonable means will be provided for the defendant to do so.

In addition, the defendant must sign and submit the Supreme Court form found in
Appendix A entitled “Notification of Rights (Felony)”.

3. That Rule 5.1 be amended as follows:

Rule 5.1. Preliminary Hearing; Probable Cause Finding; Discharge or Commitment of
Defendant; Procedure

(a) Preliminary Hearing. Unless indicted by a grand jury, a defendant charged in a complaint
with any felony is entitled to a preliminary hearing. If the defendant waives the preliminary
hearing, the waiver must be on the Supreme Court form found in Appendix A. and the
magistrate must immediately file a written order in the district court requiring the defendant to
answer. If the defendant does not waive the preliminary hearing, the magistrate must schedule a
preliminary hearing within a reasonable time, but in any event not later than 14 days following
the defendant's initial appearance if the defendant is in custody and no later than 21 days after
the initial appearance if the defendant is not in custody. Time limits in this subsection may be
extended with the consent of the defendant and on showing of good cause, taking into account
the public interest and prompt disposition of criminal cases. In the absence of consent by the
defendant, time limits may be extended only on a showing that extraordinary circumstances
exist. Extraordinary circumstances include disqualification of the magistrate by the defendant

pursuant to Rule 25.
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4. That Rule 5.3 be amended as follows:

Rule 5.3. Initial Appearance on Probation Violations
* 3% %k




(c) Initial Appearance. At the arraignment on the alleged probation violation, the court must:
(1) advise the probationer that he or she is not required to make a statement and that any
statement made may be used against the probationer;

(2) advise as to the nature of the probation violation(s) filed against the probationer and
ensure the probationer receives written notice of the alleged violation(s);

(3) advise that the probationer has a right to counsel as provided by law, and if
requested and appropriate, appoint counsel;

(4) advise that the probationer has a right to communicate with counsel and immediate
family, and that reasonable means will be provided for the probationer to do so;

(5) determine what form of release, if any, is appropriate;

(6) if the probationer is arrested in the county where placed on probation, set a time
certain for the probationer to appear before the sentencing court;

(7) if the probationer is arrested outside the county where placed on probation, the court
must also:

(A) advise that, if the probationer remains in custody, he or she will be
transported and arraigned in the sentencing county within a reasonable time not
to exceed 14 days, unless the time is extended on a showing of good cause;

(B) advise that, if the probationer posts bond, he or she will be given a date to
appear before a magistrate for arraignment in the county of sentencing, where
counsel will be appointed if requested and appropriate, and the probationer will
be given a time to appear before the sentencing court; and

(C) cause the clerk to provide written notice to the clerk of the county where the
probationer was placed on probation of the dates of the probationer’s arrest and
appearance before the court so that timely transport can be provided to the
sentencing county. On receipt of the written notice, the clerk of the county where
the probationer was placed on probation must provide a copy of the notice to the
parties in the case.

In addition. the defendant must sign and submit the Supreme Court form found in
Appendix A entitled “Notification of Rights (Probation Violation)”.

5. That Rule 11 be amended as follows:

Rule 11. Pleas.
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(e) Plea Advisory Form. As an aid in taking a plea of guilty, the court may require the defendant to
fill out and submit the a plea advisory form. If a plea advisory form is used it must be the Supreme
Court plea advisory form found in Appendix A of these rules. In addition to the form, the court must
make a record showing:




(1) the defendant understands the nature of the charge(s), including any mental element such
as intent, knowledge, or state of mind;

(2) the defendant understands the maximum and minimum punishments, and any other direct
consequences that may apply;

(3) the defendant understood the contents of the guilty plea advisory form, and the

defendant’s plea is voluntary.
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6. That Rule 32 be amended as follows:

Rule 32. Presentence Investigations and Reports.
kkck

(h) Disclosure of Presentence Reports.

(1) Custody of Presentence Report. Any presentence report must be available for the
purpose of assisting a sentencing court and once prepared may be released to any
district judge for that purpose. After use in the sentencing procedure, the presentence
report must be sealed by court order, after which it cannot be opened without a court
order authorizing release of the report or parts of it to a specific agency or individual.
The presentence report must, however, be available to the Idaho Department of
Corrections and the Idaho Commission of Pardons and Parole so long as the
defendant is committed to or supervised by the Department, and may be retained by
the Department for three years after the defendant is discharged. If probation or
parole supervision is transferred to another state, the Department may provide a copy
of the presentence report to the supervising entity in that state. In addition, when
preparing a report on a defendant, a presentence investigator must have access to
previous presentence reports, including all attachments and addendums, prepared on
that defendant, whether in the same case or in previous cases. The presentence
investigator's own copy of the presentence report is restricted from use by all but
authorized court personnel. Neither the defendant, defendant's counsel, the
prosecuting attorney nor any person authorized by the sentencing court to receive a
copy of the presentence report may release to any other person or agency the report
itself or any information contained in it. As provided in Article 1, Section 22(9) of the
Idaho Constitution, the victim has a right to read, but not to have a copy of, the
presentence report. Any violation of this rule is a contempt of court and subject to
appropriate sanctions.

7. That Rule 33(b) be amended as follows:

Rule 33. Sentence and Judgment.
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(b) Judgment. The judgment of conviction must state:
(1) the plea,
(2) the verdict or findings,
(3) the adjudication and sentence, and any credit for time served (for purposes of
calculating credit for time served. any portion of a calendar day spent in custody counts




as a day of incarceration),
(4) the terms of probation, if any.

If the defendant is found not guilty or for any other reason is entitled to be discharged,
judgment must be entered accordingly. The judgment must be signed by the judge and
entered by the clerk.

8. That Rule 35 be amended as follows:

Rule 35. Correcting or Reducing a Sentence.
(a) Illegal Sentences. The court may correct a sentence that is illegal from the face of the
record at any time.

(b) Sentences Imposed in an Illegal Manner or Reduction of Sentence. Within 120 days of
the entry of the judgment imposing sentence or order releasing retained jurisdiction, a
motion may be filed to correct a sentence that has been imposed in an illegal manner or to
reduce a sentence and the court may correct or reduce the sentence. The court may also
reduce a sentence on revocation of probation or on motion made within 14 days after the
filing of the order revoking probation. Motions are considered and determined by the court
without additional testimony and without oral argument, unless otherwise ordered. A
defendant may only file one motion seeking a reduction of sentence.

(c) Credit for Time Served. A motion to correct a court's computation of credit for time
served, granted pursuant to Idaho Code § 18-309 or 19-2603, may be made at any time.

9. Thata NEW Rule 37 be ADOPTED as follows:

Rule 37. Reimbursement pursuant to Idaho Code Section 37-2732(k); prosecuting
attorney fees.

A motion for attorney fees as costs incurred by the prosecuting attorney must be
supported by an affidavit of the attorney setting forth:

® the basis and method of computation;

= the number of hours actually spent on the case;

= the hourly rate;

= a brief description of the tasks performed, and

= a certification that the statement of costs is correct.

10. That Rule 48 be amended as follows:

Rule 48. Dismissal by the Court.
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(c) Effect of Dismissal. An order for dismissal is a bar to any other prosecution for the same
offense if it is a misdemeanor, unless the order of dismissal is due to the defendant’s agreement
to participate in a diversion program pursuant to Idaho Code § 19-3509, in which case the action
may be refiled for failure to complete the diversion program. An order for dismissal but-it is not




a bar if the offense is a felony.

11. That Appendix A be amended as follows:

APPENDIX A to CRIMINAL RULES

Rule 4(d)(1) - Warrant of Arrest (Felony) Form; Warrant of Arrest (Misdemeanor) Form
Rule 4(d)(3) - Summons (Felony) Form: Summons (Misdemeanor) Form

Rule 5(e) - Notification of Rights (Felony) Form

Rule 5.1 (a) - Waiver of Preliminary Hearing Form

Rule 5.3 (¢ ) - Notification of Rights (Probation Violation)

Rule 11(e) - Guilty Plea Advisory Form

Rule 16(e)(2) - Request for Discovery

Rule 16(f)(3) - Response to Request for Discovery

Rule 33.1(b) - Findings of the Court in Considering Death Penalty

Rule 33.2(b) - Report on Imposition of Death Penalty

Rule 39(a) - Petition for Post-Conviction Relief

Rule 46.2 -

No Contact Order (for use when there is one or more protected person(s) with the same exceptions)
No Contact Order (for use when there are multiple protected persons with different exceptions)
Rule 54(g)(3) - Certificate of Transcription

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that this order and these amendments shall be effective July 1,
2019.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that the above designation of the striking of words from the Rules
by lining through them, and the designation of the addition of new portions of the Rules by
underlining such new portion is for the purposes of information only as amended, and NO OTHER
AMENDMENTS ARE INTENDED, other than the addition of new forms in Appendix A. The lining

through and underlining shall not be considered a part of the permanent Idaho Criminal Rules.
IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that the Clerk of the Court shall cause notice of this Order to be "
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t
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entered in the above entitied
record in my office.

WITNESS my hand and the Seal of this Court_2 7 sV L/ 7 ?{
KARELA,/,LEHRMAN

published in one issue of The Advocate.

I~
DATED this l H day of May, 2019.

cause and now on

Clerk

e e e

<_Chief Deputy



IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE JUDICIAL DISTRICT OF
THE STATE OF IDAHO, IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF

STATE OF IDAHO Case No.

Plaintiff,

Warrant of Arrest (Felony)

V.

Defendant.
DOB:
DL #: Gender: Hair Color:
Race: Height: Weight:

To any law enforcement officer of the State of Idaho:

Information, under oath, having been presented to me on , and there

appearing to be probable cause to believe that the following public offense(s) of Idaho Code

section(s):
Count | Statute Charge Description
have/has been committed, and accusing thereof, you are ordered
to arrest and bring the Defendant before the Court at , County of

, State of Idaho, or, in the case of my absence or inability to act or if the

Defendant is arrested outside of this county, before the nearest available magistrate within the

judicial district where the Defendant is arrested.

BAIL:

The arrest may be on any day, and at any time day or night, including inside a person’s
residence. |.C. § 19-607.

Dated:

Judge

Warrant of Arrest (Felony) Page 1 of 2




RETURN OF SERVICE

| certify that | received this Warrant on the (date) and served it on the
defendant on the (date) at a.m., p.m.
Dated:
(Signature)

(Typed/Printed Name)

Warrant of Arrest (Felony) Page 2 of 2



IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE JUDICIAL DISTRICT OF
THE STATE OF IDAHO, IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF

STATE OF IDAHO Case No.

Plaintiff,

Warrant of Arrest (Misdemeanor)

V.

Defendant.
DOB:
DL #: Gender: Hair Color:
Race: Height: Weight:

To any law enforcement officer of the State of Idaho:

Information, under oath, having been presented to me on , and there

appearing to be probable cause to believe that the following public offense(s) of Idaho Code

section(s):
Count | Statute Charge Description
have/has been committed, and accusing thereof, you are ordered to

arrest and bring the Defendant before the Court at

County of , State of Idaho, or, in the case of my absence or inability to act or

if the Defendant is arrested outside of this county, before the nearest available magistrate within

the judicial district where the Defendant is arrested.

[ ] Bail:

(] Book and release on own recognizance.

The arrest shall not be made inside a person'’s residence between 8:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m.,
unless otherwise authorized or where consent was given to enter the residence by a person
with real or apparent authority. 1.C. § 19-607.

[] Residential execution between 8:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m. authorized. I.C. § 19-607.
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Defendant shall be transported:

[] from Judicial District(s) only.
[] from counties only.
[] from any and all counties in the State of Idaho.

Dated:

Judge

RETURN OF SERVICE

| certify that | received this Warrant on the (date)

defendant on the (date) at a.m., p.m.

Dated:

and served it on the

(Signature)

(Typed/Printed Name)

Warrant of Arrest (Misdemeanor)
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IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE JUDICIAL DISTRICT OF
THE STATE OF IDAHO, IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF

STATE OF IDAHO Case No.
Plaintiff,
Summons (Felony)
V.
Defendant.
The Defendant is summoned to appear for an initial appearance on
at , at the County
Courthouse, to answer the charge(s) of:
Count | Statute Charge Description
Failure to appear may result in a warrant being issued for the Defendant’s arrest.
Dated:
Clerk of the Court
By:
Deputy Clerk
RETURN OF SERVICE
| certify that | received this Summons on the (date) and served it on the
defendant on the (date) at a.m., p.m.
Dated:
(Signature)

(Typed/Printed Name)

Summons (Felony) Page 1 of 1



IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE JUDICIAL DISTRICT OF
THE STATE OF IDAHO, IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF

STATE OF IDAHO Case No.
Plaintiff,
Summons (Misdemeanor)
V.
Defendant.
The Defendant is summoned to appear:
[] Before the Judge
[] Before the Court Clerk
on at at the County Courthouse,
, to answer the charge(s) of:
Count | Statute Charge Description
Failure to appear may result in a warrant being issued for the Defendant’s arrest.
Dated:
Clerk of the Court
By:
Deputy Clerk
RETURN OF SERVICE
| certify that | received this Summons on the (date) and served it on the
defendant on the (date) at a.m., p.m.
Dated:
(Signature)

(Typed/Printed Name)

Summons (Misdemeanor) Page 1 of 1



IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE JUDICIAL DISTRICT OF
THE STATE OF IDAHO, IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF

STATE OF IDAHO Case No.
Plaintiff,
Notification of Rights (Felony)
V.
Defendant.

You have been charged with the felony criminal offense(s) of:

Count | Statute Charge Description

It is very important that you read this notification of your rights and understand them fully
before signing this document. If you have any questions concerning these rights, you may ask
the judge when your case is called or consult an attorney.

Please initial each item which is fully understood; Leave blank any items which you do not

understand.

1. You have the absolute right to remain silent and the privilege against self-incrimination
(the state cannot force you to testify against yourself). Any statement you make is a
part of the record and may be used against you.

2. You have the right to represent yourself and present your case without the aid of an
attorney.

3. You have the right to hire your own attorney to represent you in this matter. If you wish
to be represented by an attorney but feel you cannot afford one, you may apply to the
Court to appoint an attorney for you, but you may be required to repay the County for
the attorney fees.

4. Under the law, you are presumed innocent unless you plead “guilty” or are proven as
such.

5. The charge(s) pending before the Court are felony matters. If you are charged by a

criminal complaint, they must be set for a preliminary hearing within fourteen (14) days

Notification of Rights (Felony) Page 1 of 3




if you are in custody or twenty-one (21) days if you are not in custody, unless you
waive the time period.

6. At the preliminary hearing, the State must prove that it is more probable than not that
you committed the alleged crime(s) for which you have been charged. If the State
meets this minimal burden of proof you will be bound over to District Court to answer
to the charge(s) and that is where you will enter your plea.

7. If you are being charged by a Grand Jury Indictment you will be arraigned on that
Indictment before another court on before District Judge

8. You have the right to a public and speedy jury trial or a court trial. If your case goes to
trial, the burden will be upon the State to prove guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. At
trial, you can question any witness who is going to testify against you and call your
own witnesses to testify for you, as well as present evidence on your behalf.

9. If you are not satisfied with the decision of the Court, you may appeal to the next
higher Court, so long as your Notice of Appeal is filed within forty-two (42) days of the
entry of the decision.

10. If you are in custody, you have the following additional rights:

a. That you have a right to communicate with an attorney or immediate family, and
reasonable means will be provided for you to do so.

b. You have a right to bail which is an amount of money necessary to allow your
release and assure your presence in Court at a future date.

11. If you have been arrested or are being held on a charge from a county other than this
county you may request in writing that you wish to plead guilty to the charge in this
county and consent to a disposition of the case in the county in which you were
arrested, held, or are present, subject to approval by the prosecutors in each county.

12. Your exercise of any of these rights shall not be held against you. If you have any
questions about these rights, ask the Judge at the next hearing.

Please mark the appropriate box to the following questions:

[lYes []No Have you received a copy of the charging document filed in this case?
[JYes []No Do you understand what you have been charged with?

[lYes []No Are you under the influence of any drugs or alcohol at this time?

[lYes []No Has anyone made you any promises or coerced you to act in this matter?
[lYes []No Would you like the Court to read the charging document to you?

Notification of Rights (Felony) Page 2 of 3



Please choose any of the following options concerning your representation in this matter:

[]Yes []No | wish to retain/hire my own attorney.
[]Yes []No | wish to apply for a court appointed attorney to represent me.
[ ]Yes []No | wish to be given a continuance:

[] to decide how | would like to be represented.
[] to discuss my plea with an attorney.

[]lYes []No | wish to waive my right to be represented by an attorney. | will represent
myself.

If you are on probation or parole a plea of guilty could serve as a basis for violating your
probation or parole.

A plea of guilty or a conviction may impact your right to own or possess firearms. A plea of

guilty or a conviction of certain charges may result in the loss of your driving privileges.

If you are not a citizen of the United States, and if you plead guilty or are found guilty you
could be removed from the country, excluded from entering this country, and denied the
opportunity to obtain legal status or become a naturalized citizen. You have the right to request

additional time to consult with an Immigration Attorney before you enter your plea.

By signing this document, | acknowledge that | have read and fully understand my

rights as indicated above.

Dated Signature of Defendant

Typed/Printed Name

Notification of Rights (Felony) Page 3 of 3



IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE JUDICIAL DISTRICT OF
THE STATE OF IDAHO, IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF

STATE OF IDAHO Case No.
Plaintiff,
Waiver of Preliminary Hearing
V.
Defendant.
1. | have received a copy of the complaint charging me with the crime(s) of
Count | Statute Charge Description

2. lunderstand | have the right to a preliminary hearing on each charge.

3. lunderstand that at the preliminary hearing the State must present evidence which shows
that a crime has been committed and there is probable cause to believe | committed the
crime.

4. | understand that if the State is able to show that | probably committed the crime, | will be
required to appear in District Court and enter a plea to the charge(s) against me.

5. lunderstand if | waive my right to a preliminary hearing, | will be required to appear in
District Court to enter a plea to the charge(s) against me.

6. | understand that by waiving my right to a preliminary hearing, | DO NOT admit that | am
guilty.

7. | understand that by waiving my right to a preliminary hearing, | DO NOT WAIVE ANY
OTHER RIGHT which | have.

8. | have discussed all the facts of this case with my attorney.

9. | read and understand the English language or have had the assistance of a court
approved interpreter.

10. | have no questions regarding the way my attorney has handled my case.

11. No one has promised me anything or threatened me in any way to get me to waive my

right to a preliminary hearing.

Waiver of Preliminary Hearing Page 1 of 2




12. My attorney has fully discussed this questionnaire with me.
13. | fully understand all statements and questions in this questionnaire.

14. In exchange for this waiver, the State has promised me

| understand these rights, and by signing below | waive my right to a preliminary hearing.

Dated Signature of Defendant

Typed/Printed Name

This is an accurate statement of the Defendant’s waiver.

Dated Signature of Attorney

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

| certify that on this date, | served a copy of the attached to:

[] By E-mail [] By mail

[] By fax (number)

[] By overnight delivery/Fed Ex
[] By personal delivery

[ ] By E-mail [] By mail

[] By fax (number)

[] By overnight delivery/Fed Ex
[] By personal delivery

[] By E-mail [] By mail

[] By fax (number)

[] By overnight delivery/Fed Ex
[] By personal delivery

Clerk of the Court

Dated: By:
Deputy Clerk

Waiver of Preliminary Hearing Page 2 of 2



IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE JUDICIAL DISTRICT OF

THE STATE OF IDAHO, IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF

STATE OF IDAHO
Plaintiff,

Defendant.

Case No.

Notification of Rights (Probation Violation)

Idaho Criminal Rule 5.3

You have been charged with a probation violation under the laws of the State of Idaho. It is

very important that you read this notification of your rights and understand them fully before

signing this document. If you have any questions concerning these rights, you may ask the

judge when your case is called or consult an attorney.

Please initial each item which is fully understood; Leave blank any items which you do not

understand.

1. You have the absolute right to remain silent and the privilege against self-

incrimination (the state cannot force you to testify against yourself). Any statement

you make is a part of the record and may be used against you.

attorney.

2. You have the right to represent yourself and present your case without the aid of an

3. You have the right to hire your own attorney to represent you in this matter. If you

wish to be represented by an attorney but feel you cannot afford one, you may apply

to the court to appoint an attorney for you, but you may be required to repay the

county for the attorney fees.

4. You have the right to deny or admit the allegations presented.

5. Should you "admit" to the allegations, you are waiving the rights herein and there is

no need for the State to prove the violation, but rather, the issue becomes one of

determining the appropriate sentence. Since there is no right to a jury trial for

probation violations, should you "deny" the allegations, your case will be set for an

evidentiary hearing (where the judge will determine whether you have violated the

terms of your probation). At an evidentiary hearing for a probation violation, the rules

Noatification of Rights (Probation Violation)
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10.

11,

12,

of evidence are greatly relaxed and the burden will be upon the State to prove guilt
by a preponderance of the evidence.

You can question any witness who is going to testify against you, you can call your
own witnesses, and you have the rights to the subpoena power at no cost to you.

If you admit to a probation violation, or are found to have committed such an offense,
the potential penalty could include the imposition of any previously suspended jail
sentences or fines. There are often recommendations for penalties contained in the
probation violation. These recommendations are not binding on the court but can be
considered in rendering its decision.

If you are not satisfied with the decision of the court, you may appeal to the next
higher court, so long as your notice of appeal is filed within forty-two (42) days of the
entry of the judgment.

If you are in custody, you have the right to communicate with your immediate family
and attorney through a reasonable means provided by the jailer. I.C.R. 5.3(c).

If you are in custody, the court may or may not set bail in your case. Bail is an
amount of money necessary to allow your release and assure your presence in court
at a future date.

Your exercise of any of these rights will not be held against you. If you have any
questions about these rights, ask the judge at the next hearing.

You have the right to have a copy of the alleged probation violation(s).

By signing this document, | acknowledge that | have read and fully understand my rights as

indicated above.

Dated

Signature of Defendant

Typed/Printed Name

Notification of Rights (Probation Violation) Page 2 of 2



IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE JUDICIAL DISTRICT OF
THE STATE OF IDAHO, IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF

STATE OF IDAHO
Plaintiff,

Case No.

Guilty Plea Advisory

Idaho Criminal Rule 11(e)

Defendant.

TO BE FILLED OUT BY THE DEFENDANT

Defendant’s Name: Signature:
Date:
Age: Date of Birth:

STATEMENT OF CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS

(Please initial each response)

1. You have the right to remain silent. You do not have to say anything about the crime(s) you

are accused of committing. If you elect to have a trial, the State may not call you as a

witness or ask you any questions. If you do decide to testify the State will be permitted to

ask you questions and anything you say can be used as evidence against you in court.

| understand that by pleading guilty | am waiving my right to remain silent as to the

elements of the crime(s) to which | am entering this plea.

2. The waiver of your right to remain silent applies to your plea of guilty to the crime(s) in this

case. Unless otherwise stated in your plea agreement, even after pleading guilty, you still

have the right to refuse to answer any question or to provide any information that might

tend to show you committed some other crime(s). Unless otherwise stated in your plea

agreement, you can also refuse to answer or provide any information that might tend to

increase the punishment for the crime(s) to which you are pleading guilty.

[] | understand that by pleading guilty to the crime(s) in this case, | still have the

right to remain silent with respect to any other crime(s) and with respect to answering

questions or providing information that may increase my sentence.

Guilty Plea Advisory
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[] 1 understand that as a term of my plea agreement, | have waived my right to
remain silent with respect to any other crime(s) and with respect to answering

questions or providing information that may increase my sentence.

3.  You have the right to be represented by an attorney. If you want an attorney and cannot
pay for one, you can ask the Judge for an attorney. You may be required to reimburse the
county for the cost of this representation.

4. You are presumed to be innocent. You will be found guilty if: 1) you plead guilty in front of
the Judge; or 2) you are found guilty at a jury trial. | understand that by pleading guilty | am
waiving my right to be presumed innocent.

5.  You have the right to a speedy and public jury trial before twelve persons. A jury trial is a
court hearing to determine whether you are guilty or not guilty of the charge(s) brought
against you. In a jury trial, you have the right to present evidence in your defense and to
testify in your own defense. You are not required to do so, however. The State must

convince all of the jurors of your guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.

| understand that by pleading guilty | am waiving my right to a speedy and public jury trial.

6. You have the right to question (confront) the witnesses testifying against you. This occurs
during a jury trial. At trial, the State must prove its case by calling witnesses to testify under
oath in front of you, the jury, and your attorney. Your attorney could then cross-examine
(question) each witness. You could also call witnesses of your choosing to testify on your
behalf. If you do not have the funds to bring those witnesses to court, the State will pay the
cost of bringing your witnesses to court and will compel their attendance by the use of the

subpoena power of the court.

| understand that by pleading guilty | am waiving my right to question (confront) the
witnesses against me, and present witnesses and evidence in my defense.

7. The State has the burden of proving you guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.
| understand that by pleading guilty, | am waiving my right to require the State to prove my
guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.

Guilty Plea Advisory Page 2 of 10



QUESTIONS REGARDING ABILITY TO ENTER PLEA

(Please answer every question. If you do not understand a question, consult your
attorney before answering.) Please check the correct answer

1. Do you read and write the English language? YES___ _NO____
If not, have you been provided with an interpreter to help you fill YES___NO____
out this form? :

Do you want an Interpreter? YES____NO____

2. What is your true and legal name?

3. What was the highest grade of school you completed?

4. If you did not complete high school, have you received either a YES____ _NO____
general education diploma or high school equivalency diploma?

5. Are you currently under the care of a mental health professional? YES____NO____

6. Have you ever been diagnosed with a mental health disorder? YES____NO

If so, what was the diagnosis and when was it made?

7. Are you currently prescribed any medication? YES NO

If yes, what medications are you taking at this time?

If you answered “yes,” have you taken your prescription YES NO
medication during the past twenty-four (24) hours?

8. In the last forty-eight (48) hours, have you taken any medication YES____NO
or drugs, including over the counter, or have you consumed any
alcoholic beverages which you believe affect your ability to
understand these questions or to make a reasoned and informed
decision in this case?

9. Are you under the influence of any alcohol, drugs, or other YES NO
medication at this time?

10.  Are you capable of understanding these proceedings? YES NO

11. Do you claim that you are mentally incapable of understanding YES NO
these proceedings or what it means to plead guilty to a crime?

12.  Is there anything going on in your life that affects your ability to YES NO
enter a voluntary guilty plea?
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13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

Are you having any difficulty in understanding what you are doing YES

by filling out this form?

Is there any other reason that you cannot make a reasoned and YES

informed decision in this case?

If yes, what is the reason?

PLEA AGREEMENT

Is your guilty plea the result of a plea agreement? YES

NO

NO

NO

If so, what are the terms of that plea agreement? (If available, a written plea agreement

must be attached hereto as “Addendum ‘A™)

If a written plea agreement was done, have you read the plea YES
agreement?
Do you understand your plea agreement? YES

There are two types of plea agreements. Please initial the one
paragraph below which describes the type of plea agreement:

a. | understand that my plea agreement is a non-binding plea
agreement. This means that the Court is not bound by the
agreement or any sentencing recommendations, and may
impose any sentence authorized by law, up to the
maximum sentence. The Court is not bound by the
agreement, if the District Court chooses not to follow the
agreement, | will not have the right to withdraw my guilty
plea. | understand | do not have the right to withdraw my
guilty plea if the Court chooses not to follow the
agreement.

b. | understand that my plea agreement is a binding plea
agreement. This means that, | will be allowed to withdraw
my plea of guilty and proceed to a jury trial.

Has your attorney or anyone else forced or coerced you in any YES

way into accepting this plea agreement?

Have any other promises been made to you that have influenced YES

your decision to plead guilty?

Has anyone told you what your sentence will be? YES

If so, what have you been promised?

Guilty Plea Advisory
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APPELLATE RIGHTS

22. s this a conditional guilty plea in which you are reserving your YES NO
right to appeal any specified adverse ruling?

What rulings have you reserved the right to appeal?

23. Ifitis not a conditional guilty plea do you understand that by YES NO
pleading guilty you are waiving your right to appeal any ruling
made by the judge prior to entering your guilty plea?

24. Have you waived your right to appeal your sentence as part of YES NO
your plea agreement?

Under what condition can you appeal your sentence?

POTENTIAL SENTENCE

| am charged with the crime(s) of: | understand the Minimum & Maximum - Fine and
Imprisonment:

25. If you plead guilty to more than one crime do you understand that YES_____NO___
your sentences for each crime could be ordered to be served
either concurrently (at the same time) or consecutively (one
after the other)?

26. Do you understand that if you plead guilty and you commit crimes YES NO
in the future, this conviction could be considered in the future
case and could cause more severe penalty in the future case?

ADDITIONAL CONSEQUENCES OF A GUILTY PLEA
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27.  Are you currently on probation or parole? YES NO

If so, do you understand that a plea of guilty in this case could be YES___NO
the basis of a violation of that probation or parole (WHICH

MEANS THAT ANY SUSPENDED SENTENCE COULD BE

IMPOSED AND ANY PAROLE REVOKED)?

28. Are you aware that if you are not a citizen of the United States, YES__NO
the entry of a plea or making of factual admissions could have
consequences of deportation or removal, inability to obtain legal
status in the United States, and/or denial of an application for
United States citizenship?

29. Does the crime to which you will plead guilty require you to YES NO
register as a sex offender? |.C. § 18-8304.

30. Are you aware that if you plead guilty you may be required to pay YES NO
restitution in this case? |.C. §19-5304.

31.  Are you pleading guilty to a crime for which you may be required YES NO
to pay the costs of prosecution and investigation? |.C. § 37-
2732 (k), I.C.R. 33(d)(2).

If so, have you and the State agreed upon the amount of this  YES NO
reimbursement?

If you have, what is the amount?

32. Have you agreed to pay restitution as a condition of your plea YES NO
agreement?
33. Do you understand that you cannot withdraw your guilty plea YES NO

even if the restitution amount is determined to be higher than you
thought it might be or should be?

34. Is alicense suspension required as a result of a guilty plea in this YES NO
case?

35. Do you understand that if you plead guilty you will be required to YES NO
submit a DNA sample and right thumbprint impression to the
State? I.C. § 19-5506.

36. Are you pleading guilty to a crime for which the Court could YES NO
impose a civil penalty for a crime of violence of up to $5,000,
payable to the victim of the crime? |.C. § 19-5307.

37. Do you understand that if you plead guilty to a felony, you will YES NO
lose your right to vote in Idaho during the period of your
sentence? Id. Const. art. 6, §3.

38. Do you understand that if you plead guilty to a felony, you will YES NO
lose your right to hold public office in Idaho during the period of
your sentence? Id. Const. art. 6, §3.
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39.

40.

41.

42.

43.

44,

45.

46.

47.

48.

49.

50.

Do you understand that if you plead guilty to a felony, you will
lose your right to perform jury service in Idaho during the period
of your sentence? Id. Const. art. 6, §3.

Do you understand that if you plead guilty to a felony and or to a
misdemeanor crime of domestic violence you will lose your right

to purchase, possess, or carry firearms? |.C. § 18-310, 18 U.S.C.

§ 922(g)(9)-

Do you understand that by pleading guilty to a felony, you run the
risk that if you have new felony charges in the future, you could
be charged as a Persistent Violator? |.C. §§ 19-2514, 37-2739.

RELATIONSHIP WITH YOUR ATTORNEY
Have you had sufficient time to discuss your case with your
attorney?
Have you had adequate time to fill out this form?
Have you had adequate access to your attorney’s assistance in
filling out this form?

Your attorney can obtain various items from the prosecutor
relating to your case. This may include police reports, witness
statements, tape recordings, photographs, reports of scientific
testing, etc. This is called “discovery.” Have you had the
opportunity to review the discovery provided by your attorney?

Do you want your attorney to take any further action in this case?
If you are not a citizen of the United States, have you talked to
your attorney about the impact of your guilty plea on deportation,

on your legal status in the United States and on obtaining United
States citizenship?

Do you understand that no one, including your attorney, can force
you to plead guilty in this case?

Are you satisfied with your attorney’s representation?

If not, please state why you are dissatisfied?

YES

YES

YES

YES

YES

YES

YES

YES

YES

YES

YES

NO

NO

NO

NO

NO

NO

NO

NO

NO

NO

NO

Do you understand that by pleading guilty you will waive (or give
up) any defenses, both factual and legal, that you believe you
may have in this case?

YES

NO

IF YOUR GUILTY PLEA IS THE RESULT OF A PLEA AGREEMENT REACHED THROUGH

51.

MEDIATION:

Did you voluntarily enter mediation?

Guilty Plea Advisory
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52. Did anyone force you, or coerce you, to enter into the plea YES NO
agreement in the mediation?

53.  Were you satisfied with the conduct of the mediation? YES NO

ENTRY OF PLEA

54. Are the answers throughout this form your own answers? YES NO
55.  Are you entering your plea freely and voluntarily? YES NO

56. Are you admitting to all the elements of the crime(s) to which you YES NO
are pleading guilty?

57. Or are you pleading guilty because you are entering an Alford YES NO
Plea?

58. If you are entering an Alford Plea, do you understand that the YES NO
Court will consider you just as guilty as if you enter a non-Alford
plea?

59. Have you had any trouble answering any of the questions in this YES NO

form which you could not resolve by discussing the issue(s) with
your attorney?

60. If you were provided with an interpreter to help you fill out this YES NO
form, have you had any trouble understanding your interpreter?

61. Do you need any additional time before you enter your guilty YES NO
plea(s)?

62. Do you understand that if the Court accepts your guilty plea(s) YES NO

that you may not be able to withdraw your plea(s) at a later date?

63. Is there anything else you want to tell the court about why you are  YES NO
pleading guilty?

64. Have you discussed the elements of the offense(s) for which you YES NO
are charged with your attorney?

| have answered the questions on pages 1-7 of this Guilty Plea Advisory Form truthfully, |
understand all of the questions and answers herein, | have had the opportunity to discuss each
question and answer with my attorney, and | have completed this form freely and voluntarily
WITH A COMPLETE UNDERSTANDING OF THE CHARGE(S) TO WHICH | AM PLEADING
GUILTY AND WITH KNOWLEDGE OF THE POTENTIAL CONSEQUENCES OF THIS PLEA.
Furthermore, no one has forced me or threatened me to plead guilty.

Dated Signature of Defendant

Typed/Printed Name
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| have reviewed this form with the Defendant.

Dated Signature of Attorney
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POST PLEA RIGHTS

A presentence investigation will be ordered by the Court unless both you and the State
waive that report and the Court approves that waiver. If waived, you will not be eligible for
probation. The Court may order evaluations as part of this investigation AND THESE
REPORTS WILL BE USED TO DETERMINE YOUR SENTENCE. Unless you have waived
the right to remain silent as part of your plea agreement, you have the right to remain
silent during all proceedings and interviews from now until sentencing WHICH
INCLUDES THE PRESENTENCE INVESTIGATION AND ANY COURT ORDERED
EVALUATIONS.

The information in the presentence interview and any evaluations (which will include any
statements you make in these processes) will be used by the Court in determining your
sentence. In particular if you are ordered to undergo a psychosexual evaluation (which can
include a polygraph examination), a domestic violence evaluation, a substance abuse
evaluation or a mental health examination (which can include a psychological or psychiatric
examination) you will be asked extensive questions and your answers to those questions may
be used against you during sentencing.

1. Have you discussed the right to remain silent with your attorney? YES____ _NO__
2. Do you understand the nature of this right? YES____ _NO__
3. Do you understand that you may waive this right? YES___ _NO__
4. Have you waived any of this right in your plea agreement? A YES____NO

5. Do you have any questions concerning either this right or the waiver

of these rights? YES NO
6. Have you discussed with your attorney your rights regarding your

attorney’s attendance and presence during the presentence

investigation or these various evaluations? YES NO
7. Do you want the Court to order any particular evaluations to assist the

Court in determining your sentence in this case? YES NO

If yes, which evaluations and why?

| ACKNOWLEDGE THE FOREGOING POST PLEA RIGHTS.

Dated Signature of Defendant

Typed/Printed Name
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