## In the Supreme Court of the State of Idaho

IN RE: AMENDMENTS TO IDAHO CRIMINAL	)	
RULES 5 (e), 5.1, and Appendix A forms for Warrant of	)	
Arrest (Felony) and Warrant of Arrest (Misdemeanor)	)	ORDER
	1	

The Court, having received a recommendation to amend the Idaho Criminal Rules, and being fully informed as to the recommendation:

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that the Idaho Criminal Rules are amended as follows:

1. That Rule 5 be amended as follows:

Rule 5. Initial Appearance Before Magistrate; Determination of Probable Cause; Advice to Defendant; Plea in Misdemeanors; Initial Appearance on Grand Jury Indictment.

- (e) Advice to Defendant on Initial Appearance. At the initial appearance, the magistrate must advise the defendant of the following:
  - (1) the defendant is not required to make a statement and that any statement made may be used against the defendant;
  - (2) the nature of the charge or charges against the defendant;
  - (3) the defendant's right to bail;
  - (4) the defendant's right to counsel as provided by law;
  - (5) if in a county other than that in which the offense occurred, of the defendant's right to proceed under Rule 20 of these rules;
  - (6) if in the county in which the offense occurred, of defendant's right to a preliminary hearing, if provided by law, the nature of a preliminary hearing, and the effect of a waiver of a preliminary hearing, and
  - (7) the defendant's right to communicate with counsel and immediate family, and that reasonable means will be provided for the defendant to do so.

In addition, the defendant must sign and submit the Supreme Court form found in Appendix A entitled "Notification of Rights (Felony)". <u>In the event the defendant is charged with both a felony and a misdemeanor, only the Notification of Rights - Felony form must be submitted.</u>

2. That Rule 5.1 be amended as follows:

## Rule 5.1. Preliminary Hearing; Probable Cause Finding; Discharge or Commitment of Defendant; Procedure.

- (a) Preliminary Hearing. Unless indicted by a grand jury, a defendant charged in a complaint with any felony is entitled to a preliminary hearing. If the defendant waives the preliminary hearing, the waiver must be on the Supreme Court form found in Appendix A, and the magistrate must immediately file a written order in the district court requiring the defendant to answer. If a waiver of preliminary hearing form is used, the waiver form must be the Supreme Court waiver of preliminary hearing form found in Appendix A of these rules. If the defendant does not waive the preliminary hearing, the magistrate must schedule a preliminary hearing within a reasonable time, but in any event not later than 14 days following the defendant's initial appearance if the defendant is in custody and no later than 21 days after the initial appearance if the defendant is not in custody. Time limits in this subsection may be extended with the consent of the defendant and on showing of good cause, taking into account the public interest and prompt disposition of criminal cases. In the absence of consent by the defendant, time limits may be extended only on a showing that extraordinary circumstances exist. Extraordinary circumstances include disqualification of the magistrate by the defendant pursuant to Rule 25. \*\*\*
- 3. That Appendix A be amended with new forms for the Warrant of Arrest (Felony) and Warrant of Arrest (Misdemeanor) as follows:

## APPENDIX A to CRIMINAL RULES

Rule 4A(d)(1) - Warrant of Arrest (Felony) Form; Warrant of Arrest (Misdemeanor) Form

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that this order and these amendments shall be effective immediately.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that the above designation of the striking of words from the Rules by lining through them, and the designation of the addition of new portions of the Rules by underlining such new portion is for the purposes of information only as amended, and NO OTHER AMENDMENTS ARE INTENDED, other than the addition of new forms in Appendix A. The lining through and underlining shall not be considered a part of the permanent Idaho Criminal Rules.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that the Clerk of the Court shall cause notice of this Order to be published in one issue of *The Advocate*.

published in one issue of <i>The Advocate</i> .	
DATED this day of August, 2019.	
I, Karel A. Lehrman, Clerk of the Supreme Court/	By Order of the Supreme Court
Court of Appeals of the State of Idaho do hereby	2
theOrder and correct copy of	Z. Burdrek
entered in the above entitled cause and now on-	Roger S. Burdick, Chief Justice
record in my office.  WITNESS my hand and the seal of this Court 3-1-19	
All harden	

Chief Deputy

		AND THE RESERVE OF THE PARTY OF	JUDICIA R THE COUNTY OF _		
	TATE OF IDAHO Plaintiff,		Case No Warrant of Arrest (Felony)		
Defe	ndant.	_			
DOB: _	e .				
AKA:	Γ	DL #: XXXXX	SS#:XXX-XX-	Gender:	
Race:		Height:	Weight:	Hair Color:	
Address:					
(prosecut and there Code sec	ction(s):	phone) able cause to bel	ieve that the following		
Count	<u>Statute</u>	Charge Descrip	<u>tion</u>		
arrest an	d bring the Defendant	before the Court	at	ereof, you are ordered to, County of or inability to act or if the	
Defendar		f this county, befo		ole magistrate within the	
BAIL:					
The a	arrest may be on any d e. I.C. § 19-607.	ay, and at any tin	ne day or night, includi	ng inside a person's	
Dated:	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Judg	ge's Signature		
			ro's Printed Name		

## **RETURN OF SERVICE**

I certify that I received this Wa	and served it on the	
defendant on the (date)	at a.m., p.m.	
Dated:	(Signature)	
	(Typed/Printed Name)	

	IN THE DISTRICT OF ID	COURT OF THE AHO, IN AND F	OR TH	HE COUNTY C	CIAL DIS	STRICT OF
STATE Plair v.	OF IDAHO tiff,	Case No Warrant of Arrest (Misdemeanor)				
Defe	ndant.					
DOB: _						
AKA:	-	DL #: XXXXX		SS#:XXX-XX-		Gender:
Race:		Height:		Weight:		Hair Color:
Address:				- Williams un	***************************************	
Inforr (prosecu	nation, under oath, had ting agency, email or eappearing to be proction(s):	aving been preso	ented	to me through	on	,
Count	Statute	Charge Desc	ription			
arrest an County o if the Def	has been committed d bring the Defendan f, fendant is arrested out all district where the I	t before the Cou State of Idaho, itside of this cou	urt at _ or, in thurty, be	ne case of my	absence	or inability to act or
☐ Bail: _						
	and release on own i	ecognizance.				

The arrest shall not be made inside a pe	erson's residence between 8:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m.,
unless otherwise authorized or where conse	ent was given to enter the residence by a person
with real or apparent authority. I.C. § 19-607	7.
Residential execution between 8:00 p.m.	. and 8:00 a.m. authorized. I.C. § 19-607.
Defendant shall be transported:	
from Judicial Distric	t(s) only.
from counties	
from any and all counties in the State of	Idaho.
Datad	
Dated:	Judge's Signature
	Judge's Printed Name
	oddge 3 i filled Name
RETUR	N OF SERVICE
I certify that I received this Warrant on the	ne (date) and served it on the
defendant on the (date)	at a.m., p.m.
Datad:	
Dated:	(Signature)
	,
	(Typed/Printed Name)