In the Supréme Court of the State of Idaho

IN RE: AMENDMENT OF
MISDEMEANOR CRIMINAL
RULES 8(a), 8(b), 9.1, 9.2, 9.3 and 13(b)

ORDER
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The Court having reviewed a recommendation to amend the Misdemeanor Criminal Rules, and

the Court having fully considered the same;
NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the Misdemeanor Criminal Rules as they
appear in the volume published by the Idaho Code Commission be, and they are hereby, amended as

follows:

1. That Misdemeanor Criminal Rule 8(a) be, and the same is hereby, amended as follows:

Rule 8. Deferred payment agreement -- Form.

(a) Deferred Payment Agreement. After the entry of a judgment for a misdemeanor, the court, or
the clerk within the guidelines set by the court, may enter into an agreement with the defendant for the
deferred payment of the fine, and court costs, and any other court ordered payment. Such agreement
shall be signed by the defendant and the court, or the clerk on behalf of the court, and shall state that
failure of the defendant to make the payments when agreed may result in the issuance of a warrant for
the arrest of the defendant. Subsequent extensions of time to pay a fixed penalty may be granted by
the execution of a new agreement by the defendant and the court or the clerk. The deferred payment
agreement does not affect the ability of a victim to collect restitution as provided in Idaho Code § 19-

5305(1).

2. That Misdemeanor Criminal Rule 8(b) be, and the same is hereby, RESCINDED and a NEW Rule
8(b) adopted as follows:

Rule 8. Deferred payment agreement -- Form.
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(b) Form of Agreement. A deferred payment agreement under this rule shall be in substantially the
following form:
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[Court Heading]
STATE OF IDAHO ) Case No.
)
Plaintiff, ) MISDEMEANOR DEFERRED PAYMENT AGREEMENT
)
VS. )
> )
Defendant. )
)
DOB: )
DL OR SSN (State) )

The defendant has been ordered to pay monetary sums to or through the court in the total amount
of

Under Idaho Misdemeanor Criminal Rule 8 the defendant agrees to make the following payments:
(Set forth agreement):

Payments can be made at [ court address ] or online at [ Courtpay ] or by phone at [number ] There
will be a 5% transaction fee for all online payments and a $3 technology cost for credit or debit
card payments. Idaho Code 31-3221.

An additional statutory $2.00 handling fee will be assessed for EACH partial payment. Idaho Code 31-
4602 and 31-3201.

Notifications to Defendant: :

e Ifyou fail to pay the monetary sums ordered by the court in accordance with this deferred payment
agreement the balance owing may be sent to a collection agency and that the collection agency can
charge a collection fee up to an additional 33% of the balance owed. I.C.§ 67-2358 1 (b).

e If you miss a payment the entire sum will become due and a Warrant may be issued for your
arrest for Failure to Pay.
If you are on probation failure to pay may result in a violation of probation.
If you change your place of residence you must inform the Court within five days.
If you fail to pay as agreed your Idaho State Income Tax return may be intercepted by the county
and applied to this debt. Idaho Code 1-1624(2).

Dated
Clerk or Judge




RECEIPT

I acknowledge receipt of this Agreement and state that I have read and agree to the terms of this
Agreement and acknowledge that A WARRANT MAY BE ISSUED FOR MY ARREST IF I FAIL TO
MAKE THE PAYMENT AS AGREED.

Defendant Dated

3. That Section (b) of Misdemeanor Criminal Rule 9.1 be, and the same is hereby, amended as follows;
and that the FORMS found in Sections (b), (c) and (e) be, and the same are hereby RESCINDED
and NEW FORMS are hereby adopted as follows:

Rule 9.1. Suspension of Driver's License Upon Conviction of Offense Authorizing or
Requiring Suspension of License - Suspension Upon Plea or Finding of Guilty of Offense -
Notice of Increased Penalty on Subsequent Violations - Temporary Restricted License.

(a) Suspension of Driving Privileges. The court shall include in a judgment of conviction and
sentence the suspension of driving privileges and driver's license which is part of the sentence
under a statute of the state. If the statute authorizes or requires the court to suspend
driving privileges and driver's license by reason of a plea of guilty or finding of guilty of an
offense, the court shall adjudicate the period of suspension in an order of suspension.

(b) Order of Suspension. Whenever the court suspends driving privileges and driver's license
by reason of a plea of guilty or a finding of guilty to an offense, the court shall suspend the driving
privileges by an order. A copy of the order shall be transmitted to and-eause-copiesto-befiled
with the Department of Transportation and a copy served on the defendant by personal delivery or
by mailing to the address indicated on the driver's license or other address furnished by
the defendant. The suspension order shall be in substantially the following form:

[Court Heading]

IN THE MATTER OF ) Case No.
) Citation No.
)

DRIVER’S LICENSE OF )

) ORDER SUSPENDING

) DRIVING PRIVILEGES

Defendant. )
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DOB: )
DL OR SSN: (State) )
ADDRESS: )

TO THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, STATE OF IDAHO AND THE ABOVE
NAMED DEFENDANT.

The defendant [ ] entered a plea of guilty [ ] has been found guilty of the offense of
in violation of Section , Idaho Code, which authorizes or requires the
suspension of the driving privileges of the defendant by the Court.

IT IS ORDERED that the driving privileges of the above named defendant are suspended for a period
of [ ]days [ ]years

[] Commencing on . [_] This suspension is to commence on the date of
the defendant’s release from incarceration.

[_]This suspension is consecutive to any other driving privilege suspension.

[ ] This is an absolute suspension and no restricted driving privileges are allowed. However, if the
defendant is accepted into a problem solving court the defendant may be eligible for restricted
noncommercial driving privileges after 45 days. § I.C. 18-8005 (7).

[] The first days of this suspension is absolute; thereafter the defendant may apply for restricted
driving privileges if eligible.

[] If eligible the defendant may apply for restricted driving privileges after [ ]years [ ]days.

[ ] The defendant shall not operate any vehicle that does not have a state approved functioning
ignition interlock system. This requirement begins on and expires on or[ ][date
when probation expires] § I.C. 18-8008 (2).

YOU ARE FURTHER NOTIFIED that the expiration of the period of this suspension does not
reinstate your driver's license. To reinstate your driver’s license in the State of Idaho, you will need to
pay a reinstatement fee to the Idaho Transportation Department. Payment may be mailed to the Idaho

4




I |

xqg;::::

Transportation Department, Driver Services Section, P.O. Box 34, Boise ID 83731-0034 or paid online
via on-line services at dmv.idaho.gov. To reinstate your driver’s license in another state, you must
provide a copy of this notice to your home state as proof of payment and notice of compliance. Contact
the Idaho Transportation Department at (208) 334-8736 for any additional reinstatement requirements.

Date
Judge

STATE OF IDAHO

)
)
COUNTY OF )

The undersigned Clerk of the above entitled court certifies that this is a true and correct copy of the
original order suspending driving privileges entered by the court and on file in this office.

[ ] Personally delivered to the defendant this date.
[ ] Mailed to the defendant this date.

Transmitted electronically to the Idaho Department of Transportation.

Dated
Clerk or Deputy

(c) Notification of penalties for subsequent violations. After plea or finding of guilty on an
offense in violation of Section 18-8004, Idaho Code, the court shall at or before the time of
sentencing or granting a withheld judgment deliver to the defendant a written notice advising the
defendant as to the penalties that may be imposed for subsequent violations of that statute. The
notice shall be signed by the defendant and retained by the court, a copy shall be mailed to the
prosecuting attorney and a copy shall be delivered to the defendant which shall be in substantially
the following form:

[Court Heading]

STATE OF IDAHO ) Case No.

)
Plaintiff, ) NOTIFICATION OF PENALTIES

) FOR SUBSEQUENT VIOLATION
V. )

; )
Defendant. )
5

I



TO: ABOVE NAMED DEFENDANT.

YOU ARE HEREBY NOTIFIED that if you plead guilty to or are found guilty of another violation of
Driving under the Influence the penalties will be as follows:

1. A SECOND DUI VIOLATION within 10 years, including withheld judgments, is a misdemeanor
and you:

(a) Shall be sentenced to jail for at least 10 days, and up to 1 year, the first 48 hours of which
must be consecutive and 5 days of which must be served in jail;

(b) May be fined up to $2,000.00;

(c) Shall have your driving privileges suspended for a minimum of 1 year during which
absolutely no driving privileges of any kind may be granted; and

(d) Following the 1 year mandatory license suspension period, shall only drive a motor vehicle
equipped with a functioning ignition interlock system for a minimum of 1 year.

2. A SECOND DUI VIOLATION within 5 years where in both cases there was an alcohol
concentration of .20 or more IS A FELONY, and you:
(a) Shall be sentenced to the custody of State Board of Corrections for up to 5 years, but if the
court imposes a jail sentence instead of the state penitentiary it shall be for a minimum period
of not less than 30 days; and

(b) May be fined up to $5,000.00;

(c) Shall have your driving privileges suspended for at least 1 year and not more than 5 years
after release from imprisonment, during which absolutely no driving privileges of any kind may
be granted; and

(d) Following the 1 year mandatory license suspension period, shall only drive a motor vehicle
equipped with a functioning ignition interlock system for a minimum of 1 year.

3. A THIRD DUI VIOLATION within 10 years, OR a SUBSEQUENT DUI with a previous felony
DUI or aggravated DUI within 15 years IS A FELONY, and you:

(a) Shall be sentenced to the custody of State Board of Corrections for up to 10 years, but if the
court imposes a jail sentence instead of the state penitentiary it shall be for a minimum period
of not less than 30 days the first 48 hours of which must be consecutive and 10 days of which
must be served in jail; and
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(b) May be fined up to $5,000.00;

(c) Shall have your driving privileges suspended for at least 1 year and not more than 5 years
after release from imprisonment, during which absolutely no driving privileges of any kind may
be granted in the first year; and

(d) Following the 1 year mandatory license suspension period, shall only drive a motor vehicle

equipped with a functioning ignition interlock system for a minimum of 1 year.

I HAVE READ THIS ENTIRE DOCUMENT; I HAVE HAD IT EXPLAINED TO ME; AND I HAVE
RECEIVED A COPY.

DATE DEFENDANT

(d) Temporary Restricted License.
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(¢) Form of Temporary Restricted License. A temporary restricted license granted by the
court during the suspension of a driver's license shall be in substantially the following form:

[Court Heading]

IN THE MATTER OF THE SUSPENSION OF THE )
DRIVER’S LICENSE OF: ) Case No:

)
) TEMPORARY RESTRICTED LICENSE

Defendant. ) DURING SUSPENSION

)
DOB: ) WITHHELD JUDGMENT

DL or SSN: (State) )

3 Idaho Code §§ 18-8001,18-8005 (6)(d), 18-
) 8004A(2), 18-8005(7), 18-4007(e), 18-1502(3)
) (2)18-1502 (d)(1)

TO: THE IDAHO TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT AND THE ABOVE NAMED
DEFENDANT
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The Defendant has applied to the court for a Temporary Restricted License, and the Court has
determined that a Temporary Restricted License is appropriate and should be issued.

IT IS ORDERED that Defendant is granted a Temporary Restricted License to drive a motor vehicle
for the balance of the suspension, commencing on the date of this order under the following restrictions
and conditions:

Defendant shall carry current proof of liability insurance on any vehicle Defendant is driving.

While driving, Defendant shall have proof that Defendant is driving within the scope of the
temporary restricted license.

If defendant has obtained a temporary restricted license in any other matter for which Defendant
has been suspended; the most restrictive conditions apply.

0 Defendant shall only drive a motor vehicle equipped with a functioning ignition interlock
system
0 Defendant shall not operate any motor vehicle after consuming ANY quantity of alcohol

beverages or while being under the influence of any mood altering substances

Defendant may drive:
O directly to, during and from employment for employment purposes only at:
. Defendant must carry work

schedule while driving.

directly to and from school if enrolled in school. Defendant must carry school schedule while
driving.

for medical purposes.

to and from court proceedings.

to and from public service assignments.

to and from Alcohol Treatment Facilities and/or Victims Panel.

to and from any jail facility to serve any jail sentence imposed.

to and from meetings with defendant’s probation officer.

to and from court ordered counseling or counseling scheduled by the probation officer.

|
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Other:

Driving in violation of the restrictions and conditions on this temporary restricted license may be a
violation of Idaho Code 18-8001, Driving Without Privileges.

"
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Dated:

Judge
STATE OF IDAHO )
)
COUNTY OF [COUNTY] )

The undersigned Clerk of the above-entitled court certifies that this is a true and correct copy of
the Temporary Restricted Driving License entered by the court and on file in this office.

Dated:

Clerk of the Court

By:
Deputy Clerk

4. That Section (a) of Misdemeanor Criminal Rule 9.2 be, and the same is hereby, RESCINDED and that
aNEW Section (a) is here by ADOPTED as follows; and that Sections (b) and (c) be, and the same
are hereby, amended as follows; and that the FORM found in Section (d) be, and the same is
hereby, RESCINDED and a NEW FORM adopted as follows:

Rule 9.2. Suspension of Driver's License for Failure to Take Evidentiary Test.
(a) Sworn Statement of Officer. The affidavit of refusal to take an evidentiary test must be
submitted in substantially the following form:

[Court Heading]

IN THE MATTER OF ) Case No.
) Citation No.
)

SUSPENSION OF THE ) AFFIDAVIT OF REFUSAL TO TAKE
) EVIDENTIARY TEST

DRIVER’S LICENSE OF ) I.C. 18-8002
YJM.C.R.9.2

; )
Defendant. )

DOB: )
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DL OR SSN: (State) )

ADDRESS: )

My name is: . T'am an authorized peace officer, and on
the day of , 20 at o'clock .M., I had
reasonable grounds to believe that , (hereinafter "defendant")

had been driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of
alcohol, drugs or other intoxicating substance.

I asked defendant to take an evidentiary test, informing him of the consequences of refusal as stated in
Section 18-8002(3), Idaho Code. Defendant refused the test, as follows:

I certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury pursuant to the law of the State of Idaho that the
foregoing is true and correct.

Date Signature

Typed/Printed Name

(b) Suspension by Court. After being presented with a sworn statement of an officer under this
rule, if the person wheselicense-was-seized who refused evidentiary testing does not request a hearing
within 7 days from the date of the refusal the-date-ofseizure-ofhislicense, as allowed by Section 18-
8002, Idaho Code, the judge shall thereupen enter an order suspending the driver's license of the
defendant for one year for a first refusal and two years for a second refusal within ten years 186
days pursuant to Section 18-8002, Idaho Code, without further notice to the party. The order
suspending driving privileges and driver's license shall be effective upon execution and shall apply to
all driving privileges of the person, including those granted by any temporary license or permit issued
by a police officer. The duty of the judge to enter such an order is a ministerial duty in which the judge
has no discretion as to whether the order is to be entered.

(c) Show Cause Hearing. If a show cause hearing is timely requested by the defendant, the court
shall set a netice-itfor hearing within the time provided by law. The hearing shall be limited to those
issues provided by Section 18-8002(4)(b), Idaho Code. If the court enters an order of suspension, a

copy shall be it-shall-cause-copies-of-the-suspension-orderto-be-fransmitted to filed-with the

Department of Transportation and a copy served upon the defendant by personal delivery or mailing to
the address indicated on the driver's license or other address furnished by the defendant. If the court

10




L |

makes the determination that there is not grounds for suspension of driving privileges and driver's

license under this rule, it shall enter an order to that effect.-and-return-the-license-to-the-defendant-

(d) Form of Suspension Order. An order suspending driving privileges under Section 18-8002,
Idaho Code shall be in substantially the following form:

[Court Heading]
IN THE MATTER OF THE ) Court Case No.
SUSPENSION OF THE )
DRIVER'S LICENSE OF ) ORDER SUSPENDING DRIVING PRIVILEGES
) UNDER SECTION 18-8002, IDAHO CODE
VS. )
9 )
Defendant. )
DOB )
DL OR SS# State )
CDL# )

TO THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, STATE OF IDAHO AND THE ABOVE
NAMED DEFENDANT.

A sworn statement of the police officer regarding the circumstances under which the defendant refused
to submit to an evidentiary test for concentration of alcohol or for the presence of drugs or other
intoxicating substances, after being requested to do so under Section 18-8002(3), Idaho Code, was
delivered to the court, and

[ ] The defendant failed to request a hearing within 7 days from the date of the request to submit to
evidentiary testing , such that the court determined the driving privileges of the defendant should be
suspended under Section 18-8002(4)(c), Idaho Code.

[ 1A hearing was held at the request of the defendant - [ ] the defendant failed to appear- and the
court determined that the driving privileges of the defendant should be suspended under Section 18-
8002(4)(b), Idaho Code.

11
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IT IS ORDERED that the driver's license and driving privileges of the above named defendant,
including any driving privileges granted by a temporary license or permit, are hereby suspended for a
period of

[ ]oneyear (first refusal) [ ] 2 years (second refusal within tcn years) commencing on

AND THE DEFENDANT IS ORDERED to pay a civil penalty in the amount of two hundred fifty
dollars ($250). The defendant is to pay or enter into an agreement to pay this penalty within 30 days.
Failure to do so will result in the account being turned over to a collection agency. There will be an
additional charge of 33 1/3% if it is turned over to collections.

THE DEFENDANT IS HEREBY NOTIFIED THAT ALL OF YOUR DRIVING
PRIVILEGES, INCLUDING ANY DRIVING PRIVILEGES UNDER A TEMPORARY LICENSE
OR PERMIT ISSUED BY THE POLICE OFFICER, ARE SUSPENDED.

You do not have the right to obtain any temporary or restricted license or permit of any kind.

YOU ARE FURTHER NOTIFIED that the expiration of the period of this suspension does not
reinstate your driver's license. To reinstate your driver’s license in the State of Idaho, you will need to
pay a reinstatement fee to the Idaho Transportation Department. Payment may be mailed to the Idaho
Transportation Department, Driver Services Section, P.O. Box 34, Boise ID 83731-0034 or paid online
via on-line services at dmv.idaho.gov. To reinstate your driver’s license in another state, you must
provide a copy of this notice to your home state as proof of payment and notice of compliance. Contact
the Idaho Transportation Department at (208) 334-8736 for any additional reinstatement requirements.

Dated

Judge

STATE OF IDAHO

N N N

COUNTY OF
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The undersigned Clerk of the above entitled court certifies that this is a true and correct copy of the
original order suspending driver's license entered by the court and on file in this office.

[ ] Personally delivered to the defendant this date.
[ ] Mailed to the defendant this date.

Transmitted electronically to the Idaho Department of Transportation.

Dated
Clerk or Deputy

(e) Procedure and Evidence.
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4. That Misdemeanor Criminal Rule 9.3 be, and the same is hereby, amended as follows:

Rule 9.3. Seizure-of Driver'sLicense- Upon-Suspension — Suspension of Driver’s License -
Stay Upon Appeal.
a7 e rare-of D e

be I +ded by lave
by Stay-on-Appeak-In the event the defendant appeals the suspension of a driver's license or
appeals a conviction which resulted in the suspension of a driver's license, the court imposing
the suspension, or the appellate court, may stay the suspension of the driver's license pending
the appeal upon such conditions as the staying court may impose.
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5. That Misdemeanor Criminal Rule 13 be, and the same is hereby, amended as follows:

Rule 13.

koK ok

(b) Bail bond schedule. Except as provided above, the bail bond required for specific alleged offenses
pending arraignment or trial shall be as follows:

sdeokosk
(3) SIZE, WEIGHT, AND D.L.E. OFFENSES:
ksksk
632441 63-2455 Special Fuel Permit Violation 382.00
63-2450 Fuels tax violation 382.00
ksksk

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that this order and these amendments shall be effective the first day
of July, 2016.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that the above designation of the striking of words from the
Rules by lining through them, and the designation of the addition of new portions of the Rules by
underlining such new portion is for the purposes of information only as amended, and NO OTHER
AMENDMENTS ARE INTENDED. The lining through and underlining shall not be considered a part
of the permanent Misdemeanor Criminal Rules.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that the Clerk of the Court shall cause notice of this Order to
be published in one issue of The Advocate.

DATED this ﬁay of April, 2016.

By Order of the Supreme Court
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T AL WITNESS my hand and the Seal of this Court . -
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