e

In the Supreme Court of the State of Idaho

IN RE: AMENDMENTS TO THE )
IDAHO MISDEMEANOR CRIMINAL ) ORDER
RULES )

)

The Court, having received a recommendation to amend the Idaho Misdemeanor

Criminal Rules, and

WHEREAS, the Court has reviewed House Bill 126 of the 2021 legislative session that
was signed into law effective April 16, 2021; and

WHEREAS, Idaho Misdemeanor Criminal Rule 13 provides a bond schedule for persons
arrested on misdemeanor charges, and Idaho Misdemeanor Criminal Rule 14 provides for the
disposition of citations by written plea of guilty; and

WHEREAS, recognizing that some low risk and lesser included offenses may not be
included in the bond schedule, resulting in unnecessary detention; and the Court being fully

informed as to the recommended rule changes,
NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that the Misdemeanor Criminal Rules as they

appear in the volume published by the Idaho Code Commission are amended as follows:
L. That Misdemeanor Criminal Rule 13(b) is amended as follows:

Rule 13. Bail Bond Schedule

* * *

(a) Bail bond schedule. Except as provided above, the bail bond required for specific
alleged offenses pending arraignment or trial shall be as follows:

Idaho Code Offense Bail Bond

(7) OTHER MISDEMEANOR OFFENSES:

* % %

67-2921 Possession of Industrial Hemp without a License $307.50
(First Offense)




67-2921 Possession of Industrial Hemp without a License $457.50

(Second Offense)
Other Other Misdemeanor $300.00
2. That Misdemeanor Criminal Rule 14 is amended as follows:

Rule 14. Disposition of Citations by Written Plea of Guilty - Limitations - Deferred
Payment Agreements.

(b) Limitation on offenses for written plea of guilty. A written plea of guilty can be accepted
under subsection (a) of this rule only if the required bail bond under Rule 13 does not exceed:

(1) $276.00 for a motor vehicle offense.

(2) $582.00 for offenses under I.C. Sections 49-432, 49-432(2)(a), 49-432(2)(b), 63-
2450, and 63-2455.

(3) $4,103.50 for offenses under I.C. Sections 49-1001, 49-1002, 49-1004, and 49-1005;
$421.00 for violations of I.C. Sections 49-1427, and Rules under 1.C. Section 67-2901A
and $276.00 for the other offenses listed under Rule 13(b)(3).

(4) $191.00 for any fish or game offense, except those where the citation indicates the
offense requires suspension of a license or payment of a civil penalty.

(5) $457.50 for offenses under I.C. Section 67-2921.

(65) $276.00 for any other offense.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that this order and these amendments shall be effective
immediately, and shall remain in effect until further order of this Court.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that the above designation of the striking of words from the
Rules by lining through them, and the designation of the addition of new portions of the Rules by
underlining such new portion is for the purposes of information only as amended, and NO
OTHER AMENDMENTS ARE INTENDED. The lining through and underlining shall not be

considered a part of the permanent Idaho Misdemeanor Criminal Rules.




IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that the Clerk of the Court shall cause notice of this Order to

be published in one issue of The Advocate.

DATED this 25 day of June, 2021.

By Orde e Supreme Court

&, Richard Bevan, Chief Justice
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