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3.1 DEFINITION OF A MISDEMEANOR 

 
Misdemeanors include all offenses where the possible penalty is greater than $100.00 but 
does not include those punishable by death or imprisonment in the state prison.  I.C. § 18-
111.  Except in cases where a different punishment is prescribed in the Idaho Code, most 
offenses declared to be a misdemeanor are punishable by imprisonment in a county jail 
not exceeding six (6) months, or by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), 
or both I.C. § 18-113.  However, some misdemeanors are punishable by imprisonment in 
a county jail for up to a year.  Misdemeanors may be heard by a magistrate or district 
judge, but are usually heard by a magistrate.  I.C.R. 2.2. 
 
The Idaho Misdemeanor Criminal Rules (I.M.C.R.) and many of the Idaho Criminal 
Rules (I.C.R.) apply to misdemeanor cases.  I.C.R. 1; I.M.C.R. 1. 
 
3.2 HOW INITIATED 

 
1. The defendant may be issued a uniform citation by a law enforcement officer, but 

not necessarily arrested.  I.M.C.R. 3 and 5.  The officer will note on the citation 
the date, or range of dates, that the defendant must appear.    

 
2. A person may be arrested by a police officer during or after the commission of a 

crime.  I.C. § 19-603.  The officer will then either issue a uniform citation or 
prepare an affidavit of probable cause.  The defendant is then booked and released 
on bond or held in jail.  The original citation or affidavit of probable cause is then 
forwarded to the Court and  copies of the same are forwarded to the prosecuting 
attorney.   

 
3. The prosecuting attorney may file a formal complaint, signed under oath, stating 

the charge(s) against the defendant.  I.C.R. 3.  Upon filing, the prosecutor may ask 
that a summons be issued for a date certain for the defendant to appear.  I.C.R. 
4(b).  Alternatively, the prosecutor may provide sworn testimony in support of the 
charge(s) and request a warrant of arrest.  I.C.R. 4(a).  A summons is the preferred 
method.  I.C.R. 4(c).  

 
3.3 RECEIPT OF COMPLAINT OR CITATION 
 
The involvement of the court in the processing of a misdemeanor begins with the filing of 
a complaint or citation.  
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Note: The court may be aware of the defendant and alleged charge prior to filing 
through an indication that bond was posted or the presence of the name of the 
defendant on  a jail list, but the complaint or citation must be filed to begin court 
proceedings. 
 
Clerical Duties: 
 
1. File stamp the complaint/citation. 

 
2. Open case in ISTARS and enter appropriate information, the filing date of the 

case in ISTARS should match the date stamped on the complaint/citation and may 
need to be back dated if the paperwork was received on an earlier date. 

 
3. If a warrant for arrest is provided, a probable cause hearing must be held, at which 

time the Judge will determine whether probable cause exists for issuance of the 
arrest warrant.  If the warrant is signed by the judge enter warrant information in 
ISTARS.  If no warrant is provided schedule arraignment hearing and issue 
summons. 
 

4. Upon return of warrant enter warrant return in ISTARS and schedule hearing.  
(Hearing must be held within 24 hours or one working day, if the defendant is in 
custody). 

 
5. If a Bond is posted, file any bond paperwork and enter the bond in ISTARS; 

schedule hearing and send out notice of hearing. 
 
6. If the defendant is not in custody the clerk will Schedule arraignment/appearance 

date in  ISTARS as provided on the citation and enter any bond information in 
ISTARS; if a bond has been posted. 

 
7. Optional: Print judgment form and subject history along with the “Notification of 

subsequent penalties” forms for DUI or DWP to place in file (history is used for 
judge's information only and judgment form and notification forms are in place 
when the defendant is sentenced).  Also some counties may request record checks 
from Sheriff's  office on non-arrests. 

 
3.4 APPEARANCE BY DEFENDANT/PROCESSING BY CLERK 
 
The defendant must appear before the clerk on or before the appearance date to enter a 
plea.  I.M.C.R. 6(a).  If the defendant prefers, he or she shall have the right to appear 
before the Court to enter a plea.  I.M.C.R. 6(b).   If the defendant requests additional time 
before entering a plea, the clerk shall continue the case with a Continuance Notice.  
I.M.C.R. 6(a)(1).  The form for this Notice is set forth in I.M.C.R. 6(e)(2).  If the 
defendant enters a plea of Not Guilty, the clerk shall issue a Trial Date Notice.  I.M.C.R. 
6(a)(2).  The form for this Notice is set forth in I.M.C.R. 6(e)(1).  If the defendant wishes 
to enter a plea of guilty, then there are two options.  First, if the clerk is authorized by 
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I.M.C.R. 14 to accept the written plea, the clerk shall do so and enter judgment against 
the defendant according to the amounts set forth in I.M.C.R. 13(a) or (b).  Second, for all 
other cases not covered by I.M.C.R. 14, the defendant may file a guilty plea with the 
clerk, but must appear before the judge for it to be accepted.  I.M.C.R. 6(a)(3).  The 
Defendant may also appear, plead and have judgment entered through an attorney.  
I.M.C.R. 6(d).  The defendant may make payment in full or sign a Deferred Payment 
Agreement to make payments according to the form set forth in I.M.C.R. 8.      
 
Clerical Duties – Continuance: 
 
1. Issue Continuance Notice form with new date, give to defendant and send copy to 
 prosecutor. 
 
2. Note defendant’s appearance and schedule new appearance date in ISTARS. 
 
Clerical Duties – Not Guilty Plea: 
 
1. Schedule next hearing depending on local practice for pre-trial, jury trial. 
 
2.      Send notice of the hearing to the defendant and the prosecutor (along with a copy 

of the citation). 
 
Clerical Duties - Guilty Plea accepted by Clerk under I.M.C.R. 14: 
 
1. Make sure the plea can be accepted under I.M.C.R. 14. 
 
2. Have the defendant sign the back of the citation, or separate form per local 

practice, noting the wish to plead guilty. 
 
3. Complete Judgment (either on back of citation or on separate judgment form). 
 
4. Enter the finding of guilty and assess the fines and fees in ISTARS. 
 
5. Collect fine and give defendant a receipt, or have defendant sign Deferred 

Payment Agreement. 
 
6. Give copy of judgment (and Deferred Payment Agreement, if any) to defendant 

and send copy to prosecutor. 
 
7. Upon entering the disposition and payment for the final Charge on the case, allow 
 ISTARS to close the case. 
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Clerical Duties – Guilty Plea filed with clerk but Judge must accept: 
 

1. Send defendant into court for plea (or give date to re-appear for plea and 
 sentencing); 
 
2. Once plea is accepted by judge and sentence is imposed, follow steps 3 through 7 

above. 
 
3.5 PROCESSING BY COURT 
 
If the defendant elects to enter a plea in Court, or is required to appear in court for a plea 
to be accepted, then the matter will proceed as follows: 
 
Arraignment: 
 
The arraignment is to be held within 24 hours of arrest if the defendant is in custody, 
excluding Saturdays, Sundays and court holidays.  I.C.R. 5(a).  For non-custody 
defendants, arraignments are scheduled according to local practice. 
 
The purpose of the arraignment is to inform the defendant of the charges, the maximum 
possible penalties and his/her Constitutional and statutory rights.  I.M.C.R. 6(c).  The 
defendant may enter a plea of guilty at this time.   If so, he/she may be sentenced at that 
time or at a subsequent sentencing hearing.  I.M.C.R. 6(b).  The defendant may also plead 
not guilty.  If he pleads not guilty, a pre-trial conference and/or jury trial will be set, or a 
pre-trial conference and/or court trial if the defendant waives his right to a jury trial and 
the prosecutor consents in open court.  I.C.R. 23.   It is also determined whether or not 
the defendant desires to be represented by an attorney.  Many courts require the 
defendant to complete a financial statement, which outlines the defendant's assets, job 
status, and financial situation to assist the judge in determining indigence.  He may 
request a public defender who will be appointed if the individual is indigent.  I.C. 19-
852.  A judge may order another hearing for entry of plea, if the defendant is not 
represented by counsel, and counsel is requested.  Additionally, the defendant's custody 
status and bond or conditions of release are also reviewed.  At this time, the judge may 
also order a change in the defendant's custody status.  Otherwise the case is set for a pre-
trial, court trial, or jury trial. 
 
Clerical Duties – Guilty Plea at Arraignment: 
 
1. If defendant is not sentenced immediately, set sentencing hearing, issue Notice 

and any other orders for sentencing, send copies to defendant (or his attorney) and 
the prosecutor; schedule sentencing hearing in ISTARS. 

 
2. Complete Judgment (either on back of citation or on separate judgment form). 
 
3. Enter the finding of guilty and assess the fines and fees in ISTARS. 
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4. Collect fine and give defendant a receipt, or have defendant sign Deferred 
Payment Agreement. 

 
5. Give copy of judgment (and Deferred Payment Agreement, if any) to defendant 

and send copy to prosecutor. 
 
6. Upon entering the disposition and payment for the final Charge on the case, allow 
 ISTARS to close the case. 

 
Clerical Duties – Not Guilty Plea at Arraignment: 

 
1. If a public defender is appointed, add attorney’s name to defendant’s screen in 

ISTARS, prepare Order Appointing Public Defender, file stamp and send to 
public defender along  with a copy of the complaint or citation and any other 
orders entered or notices of  hearing. 

 
2. Schedule pre-trial and/or trial date in ISTARS. 
 
3. Issue Trial Date Notice form and send copy to defendant (or his attorney) and 

prosecutor (and jury commissioner if jury trial, according to local practice). 
 
4. Prepare commitment order or release order (if needed) and send to parties and 

sheriff. 
 
Pre-trial Conference and Trial: 
 
Prior to trial, the defendant with his attorney and the prosecutor may appear before the 
judge to determine whether or not a plea agreement may be reached.  If a plea agreement 
is reached, the defendant may be sentenced immediately or a sentencing hearing may be 
set in the future.  If not, the matter remains on the trial calendar.  At the trial, the 
defendant can be convicted or acquitted (found not guilty), the case could be dismissed 
for various reasons, or there could be a mistrial requiring a new trial at a later date. 
 
Clerical Duties: 
 
1. If a plea is entered at the pre-trial conference, follow procedures for Guilty Pleas 

above. 
 
2. If convicted at trial, file the verdict form (if jury) and follow procedures for Guilty 

Pleas above. 
 

3. If acquitted or the case is dismissed, file stamp Order Of Dismissal and file, send 
copies  to both parties, enter dismissal in ISTARS and close out file; 

 
4. If mistrial is ordered by judge, file stamp order, send copies to parties, schedule 
 new trial date in ISTARS and send Notice to both parties. 
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3.6 FORFEITURE OF BOND FOR TRAFFIC OFFENSES 
 
When a person has received a written uniform misdemeanor traffic citation, summons or 
complaint containing a notice to appear before a magistrate, the prosecuting attorney and 
the defendant may concur that it is in the best interest of justice for the defendant to post 
and forfeit an amount of bond agreed upon by the parties.  The court shall dismiss the 
charge.  When bond is forfeited under the provisions of this statute, no violation points 
shall accrue.  A forfeiture of bond under the provisions of this subsection shall not be 
recorded as a conviction, but the proceeds of the bond shall be distributed as court costs 
and fines as though there were a conviction. I.C. § 49-240(1).  Some prosecutors do not 
do this.  Bond forfeitures are not available for certain charges (DWP, DUI, Aggravated 
DUI, Reckless and Inattentive Driving), or infractions, unless they are amended to an 
appropriate misdemeanor charge.  I.C. § 49-240(2).  
 
Bond forfeitures are to be distributed in the same manner as a fine, after court costs are 
deducted.  I.C. § 19-4705. 
 
Clerical Duties: 
 
1. File stamp citation and open case in ISTARS. 
 
2. Enter cash bond and issue receipt. 
 
3. Do not enter a plea for the charge. 
 
4. Enter the case disposition finding as dismissed. 
 
5. Enter the appropriate fine amount, including court costs. 
 
6. Convert the bond to pay the fine and costs.  Do not forfeit the bond. 
 
7. Close the case in ISTARS. 
 
3.7 CASE DISMISSAL FOR INACTIVITY 
 
A court may dismiss a criminal case if it is determined that to do so would serve the ends 
of justice and the effective administration of the court's business. I.C.R. 48.  Make sure 
the assigned judge agrees with the process of inactivity dismissals and the time period 
they want to use (i.e., 6 months). 
 
Clerical Duties: 
 
1. Run ISTARS criminal case and juvenile case inactivity list. 
 
2. Determine which cases need to be up for dismissal. 
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3. Provide a Notice of Proposed Dismissal to the prosecuting attorney fourteen days 
prior to the dismissal of the case. 

 
4. If a response is received from the prosecutor to retain the case, forward the 

response to the judge for review.  If the judge decides to retain the case, enter that 
action into the  Register of Actions on ISTARS and schedule any required 
hearings. 

 
5. If the judge signs an order to dismiss, recall any pending warrant, dismiss the case 

and close out file. 
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