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I.C.A.R. 38. Minimum Standards for Preservation, Destruction,
or Disposition of Trial Court Records. --Criminal Actions and
Infractions.
  
Idaho Court Administrative Rules Rule 38. Minimum Standards for Preservation, Destruction, or
Disposition of Trial Court Records. --Criminal Actions and Infractions.

(a)General Standards for Retention. This rule requires courts to preserve certain records indefinitely
and authorizes the destruction of others. Whenever in this rule it is required that a record be
preserved, it may be preserved either in the form of the original document, microfilm, or other
archival media.Courts using any type of microfilming process must follow the Idaho Standards for
Microfilming Court Records in order to ensure that the film is of archival quality.All equipment
purchased and services contracted must meet these standards. 

(b) Preservation of Court Record, Other Than Exhibits, While Defendant Incarcerated.
Notwithstanding any provision of this rule, no court record, excluding exhibits, pertaining to a
criminal conviction or a juvenile corrections act adjudication, may be destroyed while a defendant or
juvenile is incarcerated or being held in any state or county institution in connection with the
conviction to which the records pertain, nor while a defendant or juvenile is participating in a court-
ordered probation or rehabilitation program or is subject to conditions of parole in connection with
the conviction to which the records pertain. 

(c) Preservation of Exhibits in Certain Cases.In any case in which a sentence of life imprisonment or
death has been imposed, the exhibits shall not be destroyed while the defendant is incarcerated or
being held in any state or county institution in connection with the conviction to which the records
pertain, nor while a defendant is participating in a court-ordered probation or rehabilitation program
or is subject to conditions of parole in connection with the conviction to which the records pertain.In
all other criminal cases, the exhibits may be destroyed following ten days notice to the parties after
expiration of the time for appeal or from the determination of an appeal, or from the determination
of a proceeding following an appeal, whichever is later.

(d) Preservation and Destruction of Court Records.The following schedule sets out the minimum time
period that must pass before records can be destroyed and the specific records that must be
preserved when destroying a file.It is within each court’s discretion to exceed the minimum time
period before destruction or to preserve additional records:

 
Case Type

Type of Record
Minimum Time to

Keep Entire Record
When Destroying,

Minimum Record to
Preserve

Criminal action, including
DUI/DWP

1 year from expiration of time
for appeal*

ROA
All court minutes
Complaint, Amended
Complaint,
Indictment, Amended
Indictment
Information, Amended
Information
Notification of
Defendant's Rights
Notification of

Powered by Drupal
Page 1 of 3

http://drupal.org


I.C.A.R. 38. Minimum Standards for Preservation, Destruction, or Disposition of Trial Court Records. --Criminal Actions and Infractions.
Published on Supreme Court (http://www.isc.idaho.gov)

Subsequent Penalties
All Judgments
Notification of intent to
destroy exhibits
Payment history if
money is due

Traffic action, other than
DUI/DWP

1 year from expiration for
appeal*

If money is due, keep all
judgments & payment history
otherwise destroy entire file

Infractions 1 year from expiration of time
for appeal*

None

Youth Rehabilitation Act,
Juvenile Corrections Act

1 year from expiration of time
for appeal*

ROA
All court Minutes
Petition/Amended
Petition
Ackowledgement of
Rights
Any Reports Submitted
Findings of Fact &
Conclusions of Law

Final Order, Judgement,

Decree
Notification of intent to
destroy exhibits
Payment history if
money is due

Recordings & Tapes,
Stenographic Records, and all

related logs and indexes

Recordings and tapes 5 years
from date of hearing; provided,
that recordings of any case may
be destroyed when the case is

eligible for
destruction.Stenographic
records, related logs and

indexes upon settlement of the
report’s transcript on appeal

None

Exhibits -admitted or rejected- Following 10 days notice to the
parties after expiration of time

for appeal**

None

* or from the determination of an appeal, or from the determination of a proceeding following an
appeal, whichever is later.Keep the entire record if the defendant/juvenile is incarcerated, on
probation, on parole, or in a rehabilitation program in connection with the conviction in which the
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records pertain.

** or from the determination of an appeal, or from the determination of a proceeding following an
appeal, whichever is later.However, if the sentence imposed was life imprisonment or death, then
the exhibits must be kept while the defendant is incarcerated, on probation, on parole, or in a
rehabilitation program in connection with the conviction to which the records pertain.

(e)Notice to Historical Society.The court shall give written notice to the Idaho State Historical Society
of the intent to destroy or dispose of any record.No record shall be disposed of or destroyed for 90
days following notice unless the Idaho State Historical Society gives written notice to the court that it
has no interest in obtaining or preserving the record.

(f) Sealed Records. Documents in sealed cases may be preserved either in the form of the original
document or a microfilmed or other permanent copy thereof; provided, however, that when
preserved by microfilm, the microfilm shall be designated as “sealed” for shall be maintained in a
separate sealed area.  Sealed documents are not sent to the Historical Society, thus no notice to the
Historical Society is necessary before sealed documents are destroyed.

 

(Adopted April 27, 1995, effective July 1, 1995; amended March 20, 2000, effective July 1, 2000;
amended May 22, 2000, effective July 1, 2000.)
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