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INTRODUCTION

The district clerk and deputy clerks provide support for the district courts in each county. The clerk is custodian of all court pleadings and papers that are part of any cause of action,

civil or criminal, in the district courts served by the clerk. The district clerk indexes

and secures all court records, collects filing fees, and handles funds held in litigation.
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A.  CIVIL CASES
Civil cases are brought to resolve disputes, usually by the payment of money by one person or entity to another.  The party who initiates the suit is the “plaintiff,” and

the party against whom the suit is brought is the “defendant.”   In civil cases, the plaintiff must prove its case by “a preponderance of the evidence,”  as opposed to the “beyond a reasonable doubt” standard in criminal cases.
1. Jurisdiction and case assignment.  (Idaho Constitution, Art. V, § 20; I.C. §§ 1-104 et seq.; I.R.C.P. 82)
Jurisdiction is the power of a court to hear a case.  In Idaho, the district courts have original jurisdiction over civil trials.  The Magistrate Division of the district courts is assigned cases where the amount in controversy is less than $10,000.  Judges of the Magistrate Division also are assigned all divorce and probate cases regardless of the amount in controversy, as well as unlawful detainer (landlord tenant eviction) cases. Cases where the amount in controversy exceeds $10,000 are assigned to the District Court.  See I.C. §§ 1-104; 1-701; 1-705; 1-2208; 1-2210.  See also I.R.C.P. 82(a) – (e).
#1 CLERICAL DUTIES
A court must have jurisdiction over the parties and the action in order to hear the case.

2. Venue (Idaho Code §§ 5-401 et seq.; I.R.C.P. 40(e))
“Venue” means the county in which the case should be tried.  Idaho Code sections 5-401 et seq. set forth proper venue.  Typically it is where the defendant, or any of the defendants reside.   In order for venue to be proper, it must be in accordance with these code sections. A defendant may file a motion to change venue.  Absent a stipulation changing venue, any motion to change venue must be noticed for hearing.  This procedure is discussed more below.
B. CIVIL CASE PROCESS
1. Filing the Complaint.  (I.R.C.P.  5(e))  
A plaintiff initiates a civil case in the district court by filing a complaint.  The complaint names the defendant(s) and describes the dispute.  The court charges a “filing fee” when the complaint is filed.  The amount of the filing fee is set forth in Appendix “A” to the Idaho Rules of Civil Procedure.  If a litigant cannot afford to pay the required fee the judge may permit them to proceed in forma pauperis (without paying the costs associated with the action).  Idaho Code § 31-3220; I.R.C.P. 10(a)(6). A prisoner may seek permission of the court to proceed upon partial payment of the filing fee pursuant to Idaho Code section 31-3220A.
FAMILY LAW CASES: Complaints, petitions or applications in family law cases, including divorce, custody, paternity, modification, minor guardianship, adoption, termination of parental rights, civil protection orders, and child protection act shall not be filed unless and until the filing party furnishes to the clerk a completed Family Law Case Information Sheet on a form adopted by the Supreme Court and furnished by the clerk.  This Family Law Case Information Sheet shall be exempt from disclosure according to I.C.A.R. 32(d).  I.R.C.P. 3 (a)

State agencies and persons seeking a Domestic Violence protection order are exempt from paying filing fees.  Idaho Code §§ 39-6305; 67-2301.
Once the filing fee has been tendered or waived court clerks make no determination regarding the filing of a complaint or amended complaint (if filed before an answer is filed) and should file any complaint or amended complaint presented for filing.  Once an answer has been filed the court must approve of the filing of an amended complaint.
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Idaho Rules of Civil Procedure require all pleadings, motions, briefs and other documents filed in the court shall be on paper eight and one-half by eleven inches in size.  (I.R.C.P. 10(a)(1)).  Prisoners may be exempt from these requirements but the pleadings must be legibly hand-printed and printed in black ink.
Pleadings must be signed by the party filing the pleading or that party’s attorney.  If the pleading is not signed, the clerk should not file it, unless the clerk immediately notifies the party or individual that it needs to be signed and such party does in fact promptly sign the pleading. (I.R.C.P. 11(a)(1)).  
2. Receipt of the Answer or Notice of Appearance.

After the complaint and summons have been issued, the defendant may file an Answer or Notice of Appearance.  The answer is the defendant's written response to the plaintiff's claim.  In an answer the defendant may file a counterclaim in which damages are sought from the plaintiff.  A defendant may also file a cross-claim against another defendant to the suit, or a third-party complaint against someone who is not yet a party to the action.

If the defendant does not file an answer to the complaint or otherwise make an appearance, the plaintiff may request that a default judgment be entered against the defendant
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The filing of other pleadings, aside from an Answer or Notice of Appearance may constitute a responsive pleading for which a filing fee may be required. 
3. Receipt of Additional Pleadings and Documents.

After the filing of the complaint and answer, additional documents and pleadings may be filed such as: cross-claims, counterclaims, third-party complaints, amended complaints, motions.  Interrogatories or answers to interrogatories, responses to request for the production of documents, or depositions are not to be received or filed with the court.  (I.R.C.P. 33(a)(4); I.R.C.P. 34(b)(3)).  However, the party serving interrogatories or request for production must file with the court notice of when such things were served, and the party responding thereto must also file with the court notice of when its response was served.  (I.R.C.P. 33(a)(5); I.R.C.P. 34(d)).  
#4 CLERICAL DUTIES
4.  Fax filings. (I.R.C.P. 5(e)(2) and (3))
The rules of civil procedure allow parties to file certain pleadings by fax.  Any pleading or document may be filed by fax except those that require a filing fee or that are filed as proof of incarceration of a party to the action.  If a fax document is filed it should be treated as the original.  The additional original document need not be filed.  Filings by fax are only allowed during the normal courthouse hours and only if there is a fax machine in the filing clerk’s office.  Documents over ten pages cannot be filed by fax.  In addition, copies of faxes may also be filed with the court as original documents.  There is no page limit when a party files a copy of a fax.  
5.  Receipt of Pleadings by Judges in Chambers

A judge may receive any of the above documents in open court or in chambers by noting on the document the filing date, hour and minute and then transmitting them to the office of the clerk ( I.R.C.P. Rule 5(e)(1)). 
Upon receipt in the clerk's office, the clerk enters the date of receipt written on the document by the judge into the register of actions.

6.  Change of Venue in Civil Cases (I.C. §§ 5-404; I.R.C.P. 40(e))
Change of venue involves transferring the assignment of a case from one county to another.  The change must be approved by the court based upon the grounds outlined in the rule. (I.R.C.P. 40(e)).  The judge may grant a change of venue or change the place of trial to another county in any civil action when:

(A) The county designated in the complaint is not the proper county, or

(B) There is reason to believe that an impartial jury cannot be seated, or 

(C) The convenience of witnesses and the ends of justice would be promoted by the change.

The parties may stipulate to a change of venue.  If no stipulation, the defendant must file a Motion for Change of Venue and notice it for hearing. Upon the filing of a Motion to Change Venue the clerk has certain duties. 
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If the judge changes venue to a county within the same judicial district the court issues an “Order for Change of Venue” which transfers the case to the new county.

#6 CLERICAL DUTIES

If the judge changes venue to a county outside the judicial district the court issues an “Order of Change of Venue” which transfers the case to the new county.  The judge may desire to continue assignment of the case.  If the judge desires to continue assignment over the case, it will state this in the order.
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The clerk of the court for the receiving county has specific duties.
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7. Request for Assignment to Another Judge on Venue Change 

#9

REQUEST FOR ASSIGNMENT--CIVIL

Case No. 
________ 
        County: 
______             Date Filed: ________

Plaintiff:
_______________  Attorney: 
 ____________________

                 
_______________            
 ____________________

   V.
Defendant:       _______________  Attorney:  ____________________

                 
_______________            
 ____________________

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE ISSUES INVOLVED: 

DISQUALIFICATIONS:      
JUDGE  __________ 
BY ___________

   (attach copy of order)         
_________________________

                                  

_________________________

REASON FOR DISQUALIFICATION: 

IF CHANGE OF VENUE, ATTACH ORDER OR EXPLAIN: 

ANYTHING UNUSUAL ABOUT CASE NEW JUDGE SHOULD BE TOLD: 

ANY URGENCY TO SCHEDULE HEARING OR TRIAL: [ ] YES [ ] NO

EXPLAIN: 

STATUS OF CASE: 

EST. TRIAL TIME ___ DAYS   [ ] Jury Trial   [ ] Court Trial

DATE: 

SIGNATURE: 

SEND REQUEST TO:

CHIEF JUSTICE ROGER BURDICK
PO BOX 83720

BOISE ID 83720-0101

8.  Issuing the Summons (I.R.C.P. 4(a); 4(b))  

A plaintiff may request that the clerk of the court issue a summons.  If so, the clerk must issue the summons and deliver it for service as provided in I.R.C.P. 4(c).  This procedure will be discussed below.  If service is not completed within six months, the case may be dismissed.   I.R.C.P. 4(a)(2).  
The clerk who issues the summons must sign the document.  It must also comply with the other elements provided for in I.R.C.P. 4(b).  Thus, it must be under the seal of the court, it must contain the name of the court, the assigned case number, the names of the parties, the county in which the action is brought and the name and address of the plaintiff’s attorney.  The summons should also generally state the time within which the defendant must respond to the complaint and should also notify the defendant of the consequences of his or her failure to do so.  I.R.C.P. 4(b)(2).  A summons may also be published so long as it substantially complies with the template provided in I.R.C.P. 4(b)(3).
9. Service of Process (I.R.C.P. 4(c)(1) – 4(e)(2))
In general, service of process must be made by an officer authorized by law to serve process, or by other persons who are over 18 and not a party to the action.  I.R.C.P. 4(c)(1).  It is not necessary for the person executing service of process to have the original document at the time of service of the document.  I.R.C.P. 4(c)(2).  It is possible to transmit the document to be served to the process server by fax; however, the process server must still serve the faxed copy on the person to be served.  Service of process may also be returned by fax.  I.R.C.P. 4(c)(3).   
A copy of the complaint must be served with the summons, unless the service is by publication.  I.R.C.P. 4(d)(1).  It is the plaintiff’s responsibility to provide the process server with all necessary copies.  
Service is different depending on the individual, entity or agency being served.  The following chart details those differences

	Type of Individual, Entity or Agency
	Primary Method of Service
	Alternative Methods of Service

	Individuals

I.R.C.P. 4(d)(2)
	A copy of the summons and complaint must be delivered to the individual personally.
	Copies of the summons and complaint may be left at the individual’s dwelling house or usual place of abode with any person over the age of 18 who resides at such place.  Copies of the summons or complaint may also be delivered to an authorized agent of the individual.

	Infants and Incompetents
I.R.C.P. 4(d)(3)
	If the individual is a minor under the age of 14, service shall be made upon the guardian if one has been appointed or upon either the father or mother.  If the individual is an incompetent (a person who has been judicially declared to be of unsound mind or incapable of conducting his or her affairs), then service shall be made upon the incompetent’s guardian if one has been appointed.
	If the minor has no guardian or parents then service must be made upon any person having the care and custody of the minor unless the court orders otherwise.  If the incompetent has no guardian, then service must be made upon a competent adult member of the incompetent’s family with whom the incompetent resides, or, if the incompetent is in an institution, then upon an officer or executive of such institution and upon the incompetent.  Service shall also be made in any other way the court may designate.

	Domestic or Foreign Corporations
I.R.C.P. 4(d)(4)
	If the entity is a domestic or foreign corporation, a copy of the summons and complaint must be delivered to an officer, managing or general agent, or to any other agent authorized by statute to receive service of process.  If the entity is a partnership, service must be made on an officer or the managing or general agent of the partnership.
	If the entity is a foreign corporation that has filed with the Secretary of State or is a domestic corporation that has not designated an authorized agent, or if the designated agent has resigned, died, been removed from office or moved from the state, or if the designated or managing agent cannot be found, then service may be made by mailing copies of the summons and complaint by registered or certified mail to the corporation at its registered place of business and to the president or secretary at the address shown on the most current annual statement.  If service is made by this method, the serving party shall make a return certificate indicating compliance with this rule and attaching a receipt of the mailing.

	State Agencies or Governmental Subdivisions
I.R.C.P. 4(d)(5)
	If service is on the state of Idaho or any of its agencies, service must be made by delivering two copies of the summons and complaint to the attorney general or any assistant attorney general.  Upon any other governmental subdivision, municipal corporation or public board service must be made by delivering a copy of the summons and complaint to the chief executive officer or the secretary or clerk thereof.  
	If the action is brought pursuant to specific statutes requiring service to be made upon specific individuals or officials, service shall be made pursuant to the statute in addition to service as provided in this rule.

	Service by Publication
I.R.C.P. 4(e)(1)

Idaho Code § 5-508-509
	If a statute provides that service may be made upon a party who is not an inhabitant of Idaho, or if that party cannot be found within the state, or if the parties are unknown, service shall be made pursuant to that statute.
Personal service outside of the state, when authorized by statute, shall be as provided by Rule 4(d).

Whenever service is made by publication, it shall contain in general terms a statement of the nature of the grounds of the claim, and copies of the summons and complaint shall be mailed to the last known address most likely to give notice to the party.
	Service by publication can only be made after an affidavit is filed with the court, and it appears to the court’s satisfaction that the person to be served resides outside the state, or cannot be found within the state, or has concealed himself, or is a foreign corporation without an appointed agent or the defendants are unknown owners or unknown heirs or devisees.  The court must order service by publication.  Idaho Code § 5-508.  Service by publication must be made in a newspaper at least once a week for four weeks.  Idaho Code § 5-509.  If publication is ordered where the residence of a nonresident or absent defendant is known, the clerk must direct a copy of the summons and complaint to be deposited within ten days in any post office, directed to the person to be served at his last known post office address.  Idaho Code § 5-509.


In lieu of service upon an individual, service may be accomplished by an acknowledged written admission by the individual has received service of process, stating the capacity in which such service was received.  I.R.C.P. 4(d)(6).   Alternatively, a person for whom service of process is intended may accept service of process by signing the proof of service and indicating the jurisdiction and state where service of process was accepted.
Personal service either within the state or outside of the state is complete on the date of delivery.  Service by publication is complete on the date of the last publication.  I.R.C.P. 4(e)(2).  

10. Procedural Default  (I.R.C.P. 55 (a) (1))
If a party fails to answer or otherwise appear procedural default may be entered against them. Before default may be entered the party seeking default must file a return of service that complies with I.R.C.P. 4(d).  If service was made by publication or the party that was served resides out of state there must be an affidavit of service for publication or service outside state that complies with statute (I.C. §§ 5-508, 5-509, 5-515).  Before default may be entered it must be confirmed that there has been no appearance or answer by the defaulting party. (I.R.C.P. 12(a), I.R.C.P. 55(a)(1) and I.R.C.P. 55(a)(2)) within 20 days from the time the complaint was served (I.R.C.P. 12(a) and I.R.C.P. 55(a)(2)).  If the defaulting party has appeared, 3 days written notice of application for default must be given (I.R.C.P. 55(b)(2)).

If all of the conditions set forth above are met the court (Judge) signs the Default Order.
Certain pleadings are required to be filed before default may be entered.  There must be (1) an affidavit which shows compliance with Soldiers and Sailors Relief Act; (2) an affidavit which shows the defaulting party is not infant or incompetent, or is represented by a guardian (I.R.C.P. 55(b)(2)); (3) a written certification of defaulting party’s name and address (I.R.C.P. 55(b)(1) and I.R.C.P. 55(b)(2)); (4) an affidavit of amount due which shows the method of computation of claim (I.R.C.P. 55(b)(1)); and (5) if based upon a written document, submission of original instrument evidencing claim (I.R.C.P. 55(b)(1)).

# 10 CLERICAL DUTIES


11.  Default Judgment. (I.R.C.P. 55(b)(1) and (2))
Default judgment is only entered after a party has been procedurally defaulted as described above.  When a party’s claim is for a sum certain, or is for a sum that can be made certain by computation, that party may apply for default judgment.  I.R.C.P. 55(b)(1).  However, if the party against whom the default judgment is sought has appeared in the action, the applying party must serve the opposing party with written notice of the application for default judgment at least three days prior to the hearing on the application for default judgment.  I.R.C.P. 55(b)(2).  The application for default judgment must contain written certification of the name of the party against whom judgment is requested and the address most likely to give the defendant notice of such default judgment.  I.R.C.P. 55(b)(1).  If the application for 
default judgment is in a divorce or annulment action, it must be accompanied by a Certificate of Divorce or Annulment furnished by the Department of Vital Statistics fully filled out by the party seeking the default divorce or annulment.  I.R.C.P. 55(b)(1).  In addition to the application for default judgment, the party seeking a default judgment must file an affidavit of the amount due that shows the method of computation, together with any original instrument evidencing the claim unless the court permits otherwise.  I.R.C.P. 55(b)(1).  If, in order to enable the court to enter the 
default judgment, it is necessary to take an account or to determine the amount of damages or to establish the truth of any averment by evidence or to make an investigation of any other matter, the court may conduct a hearing or order such references as it deems necessary and proper.  I.R.C.P. 55(b)(2).      
Default judgment shall not be entered against an infant or incompetent person unless that person is represented by a general guardian or other representative.  I.R.C.P. 55(b)(2).  
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I.R.C.P. 77 (d) requires the prevailing party, or other party designated by the court to draft an order or judgment, provide and deliver to the clerk sufficient copies for service upon all parties together with envelopes addressed to each party, as provided above, with sufficient postage attached, unless otherwise ordered by the court.  The clerk shall make a note in the court records of the mailing.    
12.  Setting Aside the Default and Default Judgment (I.R.C.P. 55(c))

If good cause is shown, the court may set aside an entry of default and, if a judgment by default has been entered, may likewise set it aside.  I.R.C.P. 55(c).  The party seeking to have the default or default judgment set aside must make a motion to the court.  I.R.C.P. 60(b).  The motion must be made within a reasonable time, which, in some cases, is not to exceed six months after the judgment was entered.  I.R.C.P. 60(b).  
13.  Case Dismissal for Inactivity (I.R.C.P. 40©)

In all civil cases, except guardianship, conservatorship and probate proceedings, in which no action has taken place, or in which the summons has not been issued and served for a period of six months, the case shall be dismissed unless good cause is shown for retaining the case. (I.R.C.P. 40(c))
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C.  PRETRIAL PROCEDRUE
1.  Subpoenas for Witnesses Subpoenas Duces Tecum, (I.R.C.P. 45(a) – (f))

1. a. Issuance by the Clerk (I.R.C.P. 45(a))
Every subpoena shall be issued by the clerk of the district court under the seal of the court.  The subpoena must state the name of the court and the title of the action, and it shall command each person to whom it is directed to attend and give testimony at a time and place specified in the subpoena.  Generally, subpoenas are to comply with the form provided in Rule 45(a).  Subpoenas are only to be used to require attendance of a witness at trial, deposition or hearing.  When issued to attend a deposition, proof of service of a notice to take a deposition as provided in Rules 30 and 31, or the presentation of a stipuation to take the deposition, constitutes sufficient authorization for a clerk to issue a subpoena.  I.R.C.P. 45(d)(1).  
The clerk is to issue a subpoena signed and sealed, but otherwise in blank, to the party who has requested it.  The party is to then fill the subpoena in before service.  

A subpoena duces tecum can also be issued.  This is a subpoena that also commands the recipient to produce books, papers, documents or tangible things.  I.R.C.P. 45(b).  The court may quash subpoenas duces tecum if they are unreasonable or oppressive or if the person requesting the tangible things is unwilling to advance costs that are necessary for production.  I.R.C.P. 45(b).
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Clerk may also issue subpoenas for depositions to be taken of persons who are residents of their county in an action that is pending in another county or state. (I.R.C.P. 45(d)(1))
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1. b. Issuance by an Attorney (I.R.C.P. 45(a))

An attorney who is licensed in Idaho may also issue and sign a subpoena if notice of the trial, deposition or hearing has been served on the parties.  I.R.C.P. 45(a).  The attorney transmits the subpoenas to the sheriff for service,

2. Service of Subpoenas (I.R.C.P. 45(c)(2))

The original and copies of the subpoena are forwarded to the sheriff for service in sufficient time prior to the court date to allow the party adequate notice.  Service of a subpoena may be conducted by a law enforcement officer or by a person who is over 18 and who is not a party to the action.  Service is adequate if the subpoena is delivered to the named person and if that person is given or offered the fees for one day’s attendance and the mileage allowed by law.  Payment of fees is not necessary if the subpoena is requested by the attorney general or any prosecuting attorney.  The original of the subpoena (when returned by the sheriff along with his or her certificate of service) and the request are attached to the originating case papers and filed.  I.R.C.P. 45(c)(2).  
3.  Failure to Comply with a Subpoena (I.R.C.P. 45(f))

Failure by any person to obey a subpoena served upon that person without adequate excuse, may be deemed a contempt of the court in addition to the penalties provided by law.

4.  Consolidation of Actions  (I.R.C.P. 42(a))
When actions involving a common question of law or fact are pending before the court, it may order a joint hearing or trial of any or all the matters in issue in the actions.  The court may also order all of the actions consolidated.  Finally, the court may make such orders concerning proceedings in the consolidated action that may tend to avoid unnecessary costs or delay.
5.  Interpreters (I.C. § 9-205) Idaho Administrative Rule 52
An interpreter can be used in any civil or criminal action when a witness or a party does not understand or speak English, or when a party or witness has a physical handicap that prevents him or her from fully hearing English.  If that is the case, the court shall appoint an interpreter to interpret the proceedings to and the testimony of such witness or party.  
If an interpreter is appointed, the court shall cause the interpreter to be served with a subpoena as any other witness would be.  The interpreter is then sworn to accurately and fully interpret the testimony given at the hearing or trial to the best of his ability.  The court shall determine a reasonable fee for all interpreter services, which fee shall be paid out of the district court fund.
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6.  Expedited hearings.

Certain types of cases require expedited hearings.  
6. a.  Unlawful Detainer.  I.C. § 6-310
Unlawful detainer actions must be set for hearing between 5 days after service and not more than 12 days after the case is filed.  I.C. § 6-310.

6. b. Warrant to take physical custody of child. Expedited Proceedings. Idaho Code §  32-11-311
Upon fling of a verified petition under the UCCJEA for issuance of a warrant to take immediate physical custody of a child the court may issue a warrant to take custody of the child and hold a hearing.  
The hearing must be held on the next judicial day after warrant is executedunless that

date is impossible. In that event, the court shall hold the hearing on the first

judicial day possible. 
6. c. Other expedited hearings include a 48 hour time limit for hearing a petition for the right of self-consent by a minor to an abortion. See Idaho Code section 18-609A(5).  Also, usually a period of no more than 14 days from the entry of a temporary restraining order without notice to hearing a motion for preliminary injunction, unless extended by the court for good cause shown.. See I.R.C.P. 65(b).
7.  Copies (I.C. §§ 31-3201 and 31-3219)
The county recorder and the clerk of the district court are allowed to make photographic copies of any record.  However, clerks may charge a fee of $1.00 per page for making such copies.
8.  Law and Motion Calendar 
Motions are heard on law and motion days by district court judges and magistrates. Dates for law and motion are established by local rule or practice.  If an attorney wants to appear on law and motion day, the attorney must file a "Notice of Hearing" and serve a copy on opposing counsel.  The attorneys should call the court to obtain the date of the law and motion day prior to filing the notice.  I.R.C.P. 78.  See also  I.C. § 1-907 and Local District Court Rules available at www.isc.idaho.gov/district.htm.
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9. Scheduling Trials or Hearings

For actions at issue, the court may set the case for trial or pre-trial hearing.  Additionally, either party at any time may request the court to set the case for a pretrial hearing or for trial.  The request for trial setting is served by the requesting party upon all other parties in the action.   
10.  Time Limits for filing and Serving Motions (I.R.C.P. 7(b)(3)

Generally a written motion and notice of hearing must be filed and served no later than 14 days before the time specified for the hearing. 
11.  Counting the days.  (I.R.C.P. 6(a)
In computing any period of time the day the time begins to run is not included.  The last day is included unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, in which event the period runs until the end of the next day with is neither a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday.

When the period prescribed is less than 7 days, intermediate Saturdays, Sundays and holidays shall be excluded in the computation.
12. Continuances (I.R.C.P. 7(a)) 
One party, all parties or a combination of parties may request a continuance. A continuance is granted at the discretion of the judge for good cause. If all parties agree to the continuance, the moving party may be required to providing notice of the continuance and

of the new court date to all parties. 

If all parties do not agree to the continuance, a hearing may be held and the requesting party is responsible for giving notice of this hearing to the other parties. 
13.  Note of Issue and Request for Trial Setting.  

Once a case is “at issue” either party may request the court set it for trial by filing a Note of Issue and Request for Trial Setting.
#17 CLERICAL DUTIES

. 

Within five (5) days after service of the request, the opposing attorney must file a written response containing the information required in the request (I.R.C.P.  40 (b)).  The response is served by the responding party upon all parties in the action.  If the opposing party fails to respond, the court may set the case for pre-trial conference or trial.
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Pursuant to local practice, the court determines the date of trial or hearing.  The clerk sends the "Notice of Trial or Hearing" and any pretrial scheduling orders the Court may issue to all parties.
D.  THE CIVIL TRIAL 

1. Civil Minutes

The format and detail of court minutes is often dictated by the type of case and the desire of the judge presiding over the case.  Minutes are a summary of the events that occur in court.  They provide the court or any interested party a description of what happened in a case without having to go to the verbatim testimony taken by the court reporter or the electronic recording equipment. Learning the basic requirements of minute-taking for a particular judge is essential to the efficient operation of the court. All minutes should be compiled under the assumption that they may be included in an appeal to the Idaho Supreme Court.  They are also essential to court clerks to complete computer entry and the preparation of court documents after the court hearing.  As a consequence, clerks keeping court minutes should have a basic understanding of court proceedings, possess legible handwriting skills, typing/keyboard skills, and have good command of grammatical and organizational skills.

All minutes have certain basic requirements regardless of the type or length of the hearing or trial.  Some courts may utilize pre-printed forms with check off boxes for some of the required information.  

# 19 CLERICAL DUTIES

2. Exhibits:

Exhibits may include anything from objects to written documents.  Generally clerks mark exhibits and keep track of how the court deals with them.  The Court should always announce when an exhibit has been marked, excluded, or admitted into evidence.  This is to assist the Court Reporter and is a necessity for electronic recording.  It also allows the clerk to keep a record of how exhibits are treated.
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Examples:

"Plaintiff's Exhibit B was marked by the Clerk, identified by the witness as a picture of the damaged car, and offered for admission by Mr. __.  There was objection by Mr. __, with argument by Mr. __.  The Court overruled the objection: PLAINTIFF'S EXHIBIT B WAS ADMITTED."

"Plaintiff's Exhibit B was marked by the Clerk, identified by the witness as a group of twelve pictures, offered for admission by Mr. __, with no objection by Mr. __. PLAINTIFF'S EXHIBIT B WAS ADMITTED."

"Plaintiff's Exhibit B was marked by the Clerk, identified by the witness as a group of twelve pictures, offered for admission by Mr. __ with objection by Mr. __.  The Court admitted the exhibits for illustrative purposes only. PLAINTIFF'S EXHIBIT B WAS ADMITTED FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY."

"Plaintiff's Exhibit B was marked by the Clerk, identified by the witness as a group of twelve pictures, offered for admission by Mr. __ with objection by Mr. __.  Court sustained the objection. PLAINTIFF'S EXHIBIT B WAS DENIED."

3. General Testimony

Be complete and accurate, but not in great detail; the gist of the testimony will give the reader an idea of the kind of discussion that was held and give the reporter or the other court official an idea where to find what they need in a transcript or recording.  For instance, the color of a car is not important, but the statement that it was stolen may be a reference point for someone who wants to read or listen to verbatim testimony.

Testimony and Witness:

The usual progression of testimony is and may be coded as follows:

a. D =DIRECT--Initial examination by the attorney calling the witness

b. CX=CROSS-EXAMINATION--Questioning by opposing counsel

c. RD=RE-DIRECT--Subsequent questioning by calling-party's attorney

d. RC=RE-CROSS--Subsequent questioning by opposing counsel

e. ANY FURTHER QUESTIONING is simply noted as further questioning or argument, i.e. "There was further questioning by Mr. __, and argument by Mr. __."


The usual progression for witnesses is: (If a witness is called out-of-order, make special note.)

a. Plaintiff's witness

b. Defendant's witness

c. Plaintiff's rebuttal witnesses are called to counter testimony of the defendant

d. Defendant's surrebuttal witnesses are called to counter rebuttal witnesses, generally.

12. All motions, stipulations, offers of proof, rulings, and orders of the Court.

13. All objections, by whom they were made, any argument by opposing counsel, and the Court's ruling.  If Court does not rule, type "No ruling."

14. Make a record of opening, closing, and 

final arguments of respective counsel.

15. Any other information directed by the Court to be included in the minutes.

E.  THE CIVIL JURY TRIAL

Jury trials.  The following items need to be entered into the record:
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F. JUDGMENTS
1. Entry of Judgment (I.R.C.P. 58(a))
Upon a jury’s general or special verdict, or upon a decision by the court, the court shall sign the judgment and the judgment shall be entered by the clerk into the Register of Action.  Every judgment shall be set forth on a separate document.  The filing of a judgment by the court as provided in Rule 5(e) or the placing of the clerk’s filing stamp constitutes entry of the judgment and the judgment is not effective before such entry.

The Clerk shall serve a conformed copy of the Judgment to all parties or their attorneys.  As directed by the court, a party shall prepare an Order or Judgment, and sufficient copies for service on all parties together with stamped addressed envelopes.(> I.R.C.P. 77(d)).  Clerk 

shall file a Certificate of Mailing noting parties served.
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2. Service of Judgments on Parties

If directed by the court, a party shall prepare an Order or Judgment, and sufficient copies for service on all parties together with stamped addressed envelopes.( I.R.C.P. 77(d)). The Clerk shall serve a conformed copy, with the clerks filing stamp thereon, of the Judgment on all parties. If represented by counsel service shall be made upon the attorney unless the court orders the party to be served.  I.R.C.P. 5(b).  
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NOTE: Judgments are not automatically recorded with the County Recorder.  They are recorded only upon submission of a certified copy of the original judgment and payment of fees.

NOTE: A judgment of divorce or annulment is not filed until a Certificate of Divorce or Annulment, provided by the Department of Vital Statistics, is completed and presented to the court along with a child support transmittal form plus a certified copy of the divorce decree.  The clerk should then mail the completed Certificate to the Department of Vital Statistics.  In addition, entry of judgment shall not be made as to any decree that contains the obligation for one party to pay child support unless and until it is accompanied by the completed transmittal form to the Department of Health and Welfare. ( I.R.C.P. 58(a))
3.  Memorandum of Costs (I.R.C.P. 54(d)(5) and 54(d)(6))
At any time after a jury verdict or a decision of the court, but no later than 14 days after such verdict or decision, any party who claims costs may file and serve on adverse parties a memorandum of costs itemizing each claimed expense.  A Memorandum of Costs lists the expenses that the prevailing party may be repaid as a result of winning the lawsuit.  The memorandum of costs must state that the items are correct and that the costs claimed are in compliance with Rule 54(d)(5) to the best of the party’s knowledge and belief.  If a party files a memorandum of costs prematurely, the memorandum will still be considered timely.  Costs that may be repaid may include court filing fees, attorney fees, costs of service or other costs as allowed by the Court.  I.R.C.P. 54(d)(1).  The Court also has discretion to disallow costs.

The opposing party may file a motion to disallow costs within fourteen (14) days of service of the memorandum of cost.  Such motion does not stay the execution on the Judgment, exclusive of costs.  The failure to timely object to the items in the memorandum of costs constitutes a waiver of all objections to the costs claimed.

#24 Clerical Duties

4.  Abstract of Judgment  (I.C. §§ 10-1110 and 10-1302)

An "Abstract of Judgment" is a summary of information contained in the original judgment, which is certified by the clerk and may be used, pursuant to  I.C. § 10-1110, to perfect a lien on real property, which upon request and receipt of proper fees by the County Recorder may be recorded.


Additionally, clerks may be required to certify an abstract of a judgment that occurred in another state and is being recorded in this state--for additional information, see Foreign Judgments I.C. § 10-1302.

The Abstract of Judgment contains the title of the court, case number, names of judgment creditor(s) and debtor(s), date and amount of judgment
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NOTE: Judgments are not automatically recorded with the County Recorder.  They are recorded only upon submission of a certified copy of the original judgment and payment of fees.

5. Satisfaction of Judgments (I.R.C.P. 58(b); I.C. § 10-1115)

When a party has paid a judgment in full, the party in whose favor the judgment was rendered has the duty to record a satisfaction of judgment in every county where the judgment or abstract of judgment is recorded.  The party must also file the satisfaction of judgment in the court of entry.  It must be signed by the attorney of a party in whose favor the judgment was entered.

6. Notice of Satisfaction of Judgment

The Judgment may be paid directly to the prevailing party or to the Clerk of the Court. (I.C. § 10-1115).  Payment made to the court must be either cash or check payable to the Clerk of the Court.
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7. Recording Satisfaction of Judgment.

Upon full payment of the Judgment, the prevailing party has the duty to record a "Satisfaction of Judgment" in every county where the judgment or abstract is recorded. (I.R.C.P. 58 (b)).  Satisfaction may be signed by the attorney of the prevailing party.
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8. Payment of Judgment to Prevailing Party. 

The losing party may pay the amount of the Judgment directly to the prevailing party or to the Clerk of the Court. (> I.C. § 10-1115).

Upon full payment of the Judgment, the prevailing party has the duty to record a "Satisfaction of Judgment" in every county where the judgment or abstract is recorded. (> I.R.C.P. 58 (b)).  Satisfaction may be signed by the attorney of the prevailing party.
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9.  Foreign Judgments (I.C. §§ 10-1301 et seq)
A foreign judgment is any judgment from another court, or an administrative agency that is entitled to full faith and credit in Idaho ( I.C. § 10-1301) and should be processed as if it were a new case.

Filing the foreign judgment.  
Foreign judgments are treated in the same manner as a judgment of the courts of this state ( I.C. § 10-1302), except in cases that involve the custody or the support of minor children.
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NOTE: Judgment or an abstract of judgment may be recorded in the County Recorder's Office after five days upon payment of the proper fees by the judgment creditor.

NOTE: Execution on Foreign Judgment.   No execution or other process for enforcement of a foreign judgment shall be issued until five (5) days after the date the judgment is filed.  (I.C. § 10-1303(c))

10.  Renewal of Judgment
The purpose of renewing a judgment is to keep a judgment it valid.  In all cases other than for the recovery of money, the judgment may be enforced or carried into execution after the lapse of five (5) years from the date of its entry, by leave of the court, upon motion or by judgment for that purpose, founded upon supplemental pleadings. ( I.C. Sec. 10-1111 and > 11-105).
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NOTE: These are timed documents.  Judgments are good for 5 years and then must be renewed in order for the judgment to be valid.

11.  Executions  (I.R.C.P. 69; I.C. §§ 11-101 – 11-108)
In a Civil case after a judgment is entered, the prevailing party has a right to obtain a "WRIT OF EXECUTION" from the Clerk.  The prevailing party must file an affidavit as to the total amount of the judgment, including interest and costs.  The writ is forwarded to the Sheriff for service.  The writ authorizes the Sheriff to seize property to satisfy the judgment.

12. Preparation of Writs of Execution. I.R.C.P. 69
A writ of execution shall not issue for an amount other than the face amount of the judgment, and costs and attorney fees approved by the court, without an affidavit of the party or the party's attorney verifying the computation of the amount due under the judgment.  The clerk may rely upon such an affidavit in issuing a writ of execution.  
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13.  Return on Execution. I.R.C.P. 69
After service of the writ of execution, the sheriff shall make a return to the clerk of the court and indicate thereon the amount of the service fees and whether all of such fees were collected by the sheriff upon the service of the writ of execution.  Any balance of the service fees of the writ of execution not collected by the sheriff shall be added to the judgment by the clerk as provided in Rule 54(d).    
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H.  DEBTORS EXAMINATIONS

When an execution on a judgment is returned unsatisfied in whole or in part, the judgment creditor is entitled to an order requiring the judgment debtor to appear in court and answer, under oath, any questions concerning his property.  Hearing must be held in the county of the judgment debtor’s residence.  I.C. § 11-501.  
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NOTE: If it is an out-of-county case, the clerk does not need to create a case in ISTARS.

If the debtor fails to appear for a hearing he has been ordered to appear for, upon application of the other party, made by affidavit, the court can issue a Warrant of Attachment for Contempt of Court.  This is treated like any other criminal warrant. The defendant is arraigned, advised of his rights and a trial is scheduled for Contempt of Court.  See Advice of Rights form. 

When a clerk receives a complaint for filing the clerk must decide whether to assign the case to a district court judge or a judge of the magistrate division based upon the prayer of the complaint.  Magistrate Judges get divorce, probate, eviction cases, and cases where the amount in controversy is less than $10,000.





1. Check fee schedule for correct code and fee category, collect fee and issue a receipt.  ISTARS will display the fee and generate a receipt.


2. ISTARS will automatically assign a civil case number, which will be printed on the receipt.  Write the case number on all paperwork filed.


3. Judge assignments are made automatically by ISTARS at the time the case is created.  If a Judge code is entered and needs to be changed, use the "New Judge" option from the Case screen.


4. File stamp the "Complaint," and conform any copies.


5. Issue the Summons.  The summons is prepared by the plaintiff and presented to the court.


a. Write case number on summons.


b. Stamp the name of the assigned judge on the Complaint and according to local practice of the summons.


c. Sign and seal summons


d. Return original "Summons" to the party filing the complaint or retained in the Court file Rule 4(c) (2).


e) Put Family Law Information Sheet in sealed envelope.


6. Enter complete Plaintiff and Defendant information in the appropriate screens.


7. Enter Further information required by ISTARS :


8. ISTARS will index the case in the "Civil Name Index" by each name entered as Plaintiff/Defendant as that information is entered.


9. If ISTARS is generating a case file label, attach label to front of file jacket, and the case number label on the file tab.


10. File the documents in the case file and place the case file numerically in the pending case file area.





1. Check fee schedule for correct code and fee category, collect fee and issue a receipt.  See I.R.C.P. Appendix “A.”


2. File stamp papers.


3. Enter required information in the ISTARS register of actions.


Note: Enter new attorney in defendant's screen/update pro-se litigant residential and mailing information


4. File documents in the case file.





1. File stamp the documents and place in case file.


2. Enter the fact that documents have been filed in the ISTARS register of actions.


3. Certain documents, such as stipulations, proposed orders, application for service by publication, or other documents that require a judge's signature should be placed in the case file and forwarded to the judge, according to local practice.


4. After the judge has taken appropriate action, the case folder should be returned to the clerk's office.  The appropriate date entry should be made and the file returned to pending file area.





1. Collect the fee for the new county and attach the new county's fee to the motion.


2. Enter the motion in ISTARS.


3. Route the motion and order with the case file to the assigned judge.





1. Upon granting of the motion, place the original “Order for Change of Venue” in the case file folder.


2. Send fee and all original pleadings and papers and a certified copy of the order changing venue to the clerk of the court of new venue.


3. Transfer materials by certified mail.


4. Enter the court of new venue in the ROA and close the case in ISTARS.


Note: The same judge will remain on the case unless the administrative judge reassigns it.





1. Place the original “Order for Change of Venue” in the case file folder.


2. Refer the case to the administrative director of the court for assignment by the Supreme Court to a court of proper venue in another judicial district and assignment of a specific judge to preside in the proceeding by filling out a request form (attached).  File a copy.


Note: If the reason for the change of venue is filed on the grounds that the county designated in the complaint is not the proper county, you do not need to refer the case to the administrative director of the courts.


3. Hold file until a “Designation of Venue and Assignment of Judge” is received from the Supreme Court.


4. Send all original pleadings and papers and a certified copy of the “Order for Change of Venue” and the “Designation of Venue and Assignment of Judge” along with the filing fee to the clerk of the new court.


5. Transfer materials by certified mail.


6. Enter the court of new venue in the ROA and close the case in ISTARS.





1. Open a case following the procedures for civil actions and open as a case transferred in from another county; process the filing fee.


2. If transferred from within the same judicial district, then the same judge should still be assigned to the case.  If from a different judicial district, then there should be an order from the Supreme Court assigning it to the Administrative District Judge.  Take this order to the TCA for assignment of the case.





1. Check the file for a Return of Service to be sure all defendants against whom default is sought have been served. 


2. Confirm there has no answer or notice of appearance within 20 days of the date of service.


	Note: If an answer was filed after the 20 days inform the judge.


3. If there has been a notice of appearance, confirm there has been 3 days notice of intent to take default.








1. Determine that the claim is for a sum certain, or for a sum which can by computation be made certain (as in the case of interest).


2.Determine that the defendant was personally served within the State of Idaho, and that proof of is filed in the case.


3.Make sure that the 20 days from the date of service has expired.


4.Determine if the defendant has appeared in the action either in person or by an attorney.


5. Compare the submitted Judgment to the Complaint to make sure the relief requested does not exceed the amount originally requested.


6. Make sure the "Affidavit for Default and Application and Order for Default" is in the file.  The "Affidavit for Default" must show the following statements.


(a) The amount due and the method of computation. (The amount due can be 	in a document "Affidavit of Amount Due" or in a verified Complaint.)


(b) That the defendant is not in the military service, is not an infant (under 18 	yrs old) or an incompetent person.


(c) The defendant has been personally served, other than by publication or 	personal service outside of the State of Idaho, and 20 days have elapsed since 	said service, (See: (> I.R.C.P. 6(a) for definition of 20 days).


(d)Defendant has never appeared in person or represented by counsel.


(e)Written certification of the name and address of the defendant, which will 	give party notice of such default judgment.


7.Require sufficient copies of the "Judgment", along with stamped envelopes, addressed to the parties, in which to mail the copy of the filed Judgment. (See:  I.R.C.P. 77(d).


8. Enter the Judgment by placing the filing stamp on the Original and conform all copies, and enter in the ROA   Send copies to all the parties.


9.  Sign a certificate of mailing noting that you sent out the Judgment or Order. 


10.  Enter the civil disposition for the parties involved in the judgment in the civil disposition field in ISTARS.  Confirm that the case is closed.  (Note:  It is possible to have multiple civil in a case with multiple parties.)





1. Run ISTARS report that identifies cases eligible for inactivity dismissal.





2. Provide a Notice of Proposed Dismissal to all parties fourteen days prior to the dismissal of the case.





3. If a response is received from a party to retain the case, forward the response to the judge for review.  If the judge decides to retain the case, enter that action into the Register of Actions on ISTARS.  If the judge signs the order to dismiss, close the case in ISTARS.





4. For those cases where no response is received, prepare an Order of Inactivity Dismissal and attach the ISTARS report that lists the cases to be dismissed.





5. Once the Order of Inactivity Dismissal is signed by the judge, close the case in ISTARS, noting the dismissal.





Check that the subpoena states the name of the court, title of the action and that it commands each person listed on the subpoena to appear at a specified time and place to provide testimony and/or documentation.


Sign the subpoena and place the court seal on the original document.


Return the subpoena to the requesting party for service or to the sheriff’s office with the directions for service provided by the requesting party.





Check the documents provided for a Notice of Deposition with attached proof of service notifying all parties to the action of the date, time and place of hearing, which hearing must be held in the county being requested to issue the subpoena.  If these documents are in order, the clerk shall issue the subpoena and place the court seal on the original document.  


Transmit the subpoena to the sheriff for service with the letters of instruction from the requesting party.





Once the clerk has been notified that one of the parties to an action requires an interpreter, the clerk shall notify the designated office, usually the Trial Court Administrator’s Office, of the language for which the interpreter is needed, the date, time and courtroom assignment.


2.	The clerk shall obtain verification from the Trial Court Administrator’s Office that an interpreter has been obtained, the interpreter’s name and phone number.


The clerk shall attach the verification to the case file.





1. Print and post the ISTARS calendar of hearings.


2. Pull case files and take into the courtroom, or other designated area.


3. File minutes and papers in case file after hearing.  Make record of all filings and hearings in the ISTARS Register of Actions.


4. Re-file the case file.





1. Date and file stamp the document.


2. Pull case file, file document and forward case file to judge or calendar clerk.





1. Date and file stamp the document.


2. Pull case file, file document and forward case file to judge.





1. Court and case title "In the District Court of the Third Judicial District, etc." Indicate "Magistrate Division" if that is the case.


2. Case number or numbers.


The name of the plaintiff. (whether an individual or a business firm). The


name should be exactly as stated on the original complaint.


4. A list of the officers of the court for that hearing: Judge, Court Reporter, attorneys, court clerk and the interpreter if present.


5. Type of hearing, i.e.: Arraignment, sentencing, motions hearings, trial, etc.


6. The name of the opposing party.


7. Tape Number, date, time, and tape counter number. In multiple day trials, the new date should be shown at the beginning of each day's minutes.


8.  The hour and minute is recorded:


a. At the beginning of each hearing/trial


b. Each new day of a multiple-day hearing/trial


c. All recesses and reconvening of court after each recess


d. At the conclusion of each hearing.


9. The giving of an oath.


10. Each witness with the name correctly spelled and entered as given by the witness from the stand.





1. Note in the minutes when each exhibit is marked (if an exhibit is marked in pre-trial, or before trial, show that fact in the minutes).





2. Identify the exhibit.  Use the identification of the exhibit given by the witness ( i.e. “it is the contract we signed” = “contract” ) 


	


3. Note the offering of an exhibit for entry into evidence along with a note of any objection.





4. Note the admission into evidence.  If "Not Admitted," enter that fact in the minutes. Admitted, Denied, or Rejected, Ruling Reserved, Illustrative Purposes Only, or Demonstrative Purposes Only, are terms used in noting exhibits.





5. Record ALL objections to exhibits, by whom they were made, and the Court's ruling.  Objections are overruled or sustained, however, if the Court does not rule simply record "No ruling."





6. If a COPY of an exhibit is ordered by the Court to be substituted for the original, so state in the minutes and make the substitution at the direction of the Court.





7. Identify each exhibit plainly as "Admitted," "Denied," or "Rejected," or "Illustrative Only" in the minutes





 1. Roll call of the prospective jurors, showing how many answered the roll call and the names of those who do not answer. Any directive of the Court regarding those who are absent should be noted.


 2. The names of each of the first prospective jurors in the order drawn.


 3. Voir Dire examination of the panel or of each prospective juror. Details are not necessary, however, the fact that he/she was examined and by whom, whether he/she was passed for cause or not, any objections, and the Court's ruling on each matter should be entered.





"David Smith was examined by Mr. __, passed for cause; questioned by Mr. __ with objection by Mr. __.  Overruled by the Court.  Mr. Smith was passed for cause."





"David Smith was questioned by Mr. __, who asked that Mr. Smith be excused for cause; Mr. __ concurred, and the Court excused Mr. Smith for cause."





 4. All challenges for cause, by whom made, and whether or not granted by the Court; the replacement name and voir dire examination of that person.


 5. Peremptory challenges: review with the judge the method for recording peremptory challenges as practice may vary.


 6. The names of the final jury panel in the order they are seated.


 7. The fact that oaths were administered, including the voir dire oath, the oath given to the final jury panel, and the bailiff's oath.  See Appendix ___ for the text of the oaths.


 8. All admonitions of the Court to the jury, counsel, or witnesses.


 9. The time of all recesses and re-convenings.


10. All roll calls or the waiving of the roll calls.


11. The verdict- as announced by the court clerk.


12. Any polling of the jury and the answer by each juror to the polling question














1. File stamp the Original Judgment and all copies, and make appropriate entries in ISTARS ROA.


NOTE: A judgment of divorce or annulment, is not filed until a certificate, provided by the Department of Vital Statistics, is completed and presented to the court along with a child support transmitted form plus a certified copy of the divorce decree.  The clerk should then mail the completed certificate to the Department of Vital Statistics.  In addition, entry of judgment shall not be made as to any decree that contains the obligation for one party to pay child support unless and until it is accompanied by the completed transmittal form to the Department of Health and Welfare. (> IRCP 58(a))


2. Microfilm the Judgment as per local practice.


3. File Original Judgment and Certificate of Mailing in the case file.


NOTE: Judgments are not automatically recorded with the County Recorder.  They are recorded only upon submission of a certified copy of the original judgment and payment of fees.








1.  If the court prepares the judgment, make copies for service and mail with sufficient postage.


2.  If a party prepares the judgment, have them prepare copies for service along with envelopes and postage and Certificate of mailing to be signed by the clerk. 


3.  Complete a Certificate of Mailing noting parties served.


4.  Microfilm the Judgment as per local practice.


	5.  File Original Judgment and Certificate of Mailing in the case file.


6.  Make sure all hearings are resulted, all documents are entered in the ROA, all bonds are disposed.


7.  Enter the civil disposition for the parties involved in the judgment in the civil disposition field in ISTARS.  Confirm that the case is closed.  (Note:  It is possible to have multiple civil dispositions in a case with multiple parties.)








1. Upon direction of the Court, enter costs. IRCP 54(d)(7).


If no objection has been filed, the case does not need to be reopened to enter the Memorandum of Costs in the Register of Actions or to CLASS.


2. If there are objections to the costs, the case may need to be reopened and scheduled for hearing if an objection to the Memorandum of Costs is filed.


3. Serve judgment or court's order of costs to Parties per local practice.


4. Microfilm the Judgment or order of costs as per local practice.














Upon payment of the proper fee put court seal on the "Abstract of Judgment".


The Abstract is returned to the person submitting it for recording (unless otherwise directed)








If the check is made out to the prevailing party, the clerk cannot accept payment.  Advise them to deliver payment directly to the prevailing party or make the check payable to the Clerk of the Court.





If payment is made to the Clerk of the Court, enter the payment as a bond posted on behalf the party paying the funds, and provide the payor with a copy of the receipt.





If these funds were in the form of a check, there will be a 20 day holding period before that money can be released to provide the court time for that check to be cleared.  If paid with cash, immediately convert the bond to pay the prevailing party.





File stamp the Satisfaction of Judgment and enter in the ROA.  Go to the civil disposition screen and enter the satisfaction of judgment and the date.


Case does not have to be reopened to file a satisfaction of judgment.


Send copies to the appropriate parties.


If Judgment is recorded, party should have Satisfaction of Judgment recorded to release any lien on property.


Microfilm the Satisfaction of Judgment, per local practice, and then place original in case file





(a) File stamp the Satisfaction of Judgment





(b) Copies to be sent to the parties/counsels.





(c) Enter information into Register of Actions





(d) Case does not have to be reopened to file a satisfaction of judgment





(e) Microfilm the Satisfaction of Judgment, per local practice, and then place original in case file.





(f) If Judgment is recorded, party should have Satisfaction of Judgment recorded to release any lien on property.





1. Receive a certified (in accordance with Idaho Code) copy of the Foreign Judgment and an affidavit setting forth the names and last known post office addresses of the Judgment debtor and Judgment creditor.





2. Enter the correct filing fee.  (See IRCP, Appx.  A--(S) Filing Fee Schedule--File stamp the document and enter the party information in ISTARS.





3.  Enter the civil disposition for the parties involved in the judgment in the civil disposition field in ISTARS.  Confirm that the case is closed.





4. Mail notice of the filing, to the judgment debtor at the address given by the creditor or creditor's attorney. (> I.C. § 10-1303(a)(b)).





1. Collect filing fee;


2. Date stamp and file Motion for renewed Judgment;


3. Have judge sign order;


4. Clerk shall immediately mail a notice of the filing.





1.  Check case file to insure the requesting party is entitled to the writ.  Specifically check:





a.  that there are no active writs on the case, that have been outstanding for 60 days or longer, unless it is a continuous writ for child support,





b. that Judgment has been entered and the date of entry;





c. verify the filing of the Affidavit for the amount of the judgment, I.R.C.P § 69;





d. that Judgment has not been satisfied;





e. and the issuance of the writ is not occurring beyond 5 years from the date of judgment, unless the judgment has been renewed by court order I.C. §  11-105 Writs of Execution must be microfilmed.





2. Collect the $2.00 fee and issue a receipt for each writ issued (§ 4.2: OTHER FEES)





3. Sign and seal the "Writ of Execution" which is prepared by the prevailing party.





4. Writ of Execution is given to the party to take to the Sheriff of any county in the State.  If it requires delivery of real or personal property, it may be issued to the sheriff of the county where the property or some part thereof is situated.  Executions may be issued at the same time to different counties. (I.C. § > 11-107)





5. Enter on the Register of Actions, that a writ has been issued.





6. Enter Writ on the Judgment docket if applicable





1. File the Original Writ and the Sheriff's return of service.





2. Enter "Return of Writ" into the Register of Actions





3. Note the amount seized in the Register of Actions as per local practice.


4.  Add any balance of service fees not collected to thejudgment.





1. Schedule the hearing.





2.  On the date of the hearing, administer oath to debtor.





3.  Record proceedings if requested by either party.





4. Upon request transmit a copy of the record to the county where the judgment is filed.





5.  Place a minute entry in the court file indicating who appeared.
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