

# State of Idaho Compensation Policies for Freelance Interpreters

Payment for interpreter services is made in accordance with Idaho law and **Section 6.0** *General Guidelines for Compensation* of the Interpreter Policy Manual.

To access additional information contact the Language Access Office at (208) 947-7554, or <u>languageaccess@idcourts.net</u>. You may also refer to the **Interpreter Policy Manual** located at <u>https://www.isc.idaho.gov/interpreters/CI-ProgramPolicyManual.pdf</u>.

## Hourly Rates:

Master Level: \$44.00 an hour Certified: \$39.00 an hour Certified in Languages Other Than Spanish: Negotiate as appropriate. Conditionally Approved: \$27.50 an hour Registered Interpreters: Negotiate as appropriate. Interpreters for the Deaf/Hard of Hearing: Negotiate as appropriate

Unless otherwise negotiated, interpreters are compensated at a minimum for two hours.

## Mileage Reimbursement<sup>1</sup>:

Rates are determined per I.C. §9-1603. Mileage is paid after an interpreter has traveled more than 30 miles one-way.

## Travel Time<sup>1</sup>:

Travel time is paid whenever an interpreter travels more than 40 miles one-way. Compensation for travel time is made at half the hourly rate.

## Expenses:

Additional expenses must be preapproved. Preapproval must be done in writing. Unless otherwise negotiated, interpreters will be reimbursed for travel related expenses, upon submission of original receipts.

## **Cancellations:**

Cancellations made with less than 48 hours will be compensated at the hourly rate and in accordance with policies stated in *Interpreter Policy Manual under* Sections 6.5 and 6.6. Interpreters must remain available for the period booked.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Determined by Google Maps or similar source.