

Idaho Supreme Court

From the desk of ...

Susan Wendt P.O. Box 83720 Boise, Idaho 83720-0101 (208) 947-7456 FAX: (208) 947-7416

Email: swendt@idcourts.net

TO:	Supreme Court Registered Domestic Assault or Battery Evaluators
FROM:	Susan Wendt, Fingerprint Coordinator, Idaho Supreme Court
DATE:	July 1, 2017
RE:	Instructions and Requirements for Criminal History Checks

Pursuant to Idaho Court Administrative Rule (I.C.A.R.) 75, Supreme Court registered Domestic Assault or Battery Evaluators must submit to a criminal history check. Included in this memo are instructions for submitting to a criminal history check. Prior to becoming a Supreme Court registered evaluator, applicants must submit all criminal history check information, including completed rolled fingerprint cards, Self-Declaration and Authorization for Criminal History Check, Authorization to Investigate, IDH&W Authorization and Consent to Release Information plus \$20 fee, and ISP Non-Criminal Justice Applicant Privacy Statement to the Idaho Supreme Court.

To request fingerprint cards with instructions to assist you in completing them, email <u>swendt@idcourts.net</u>. Before we forward your criminal history check to the Idaho State Police (ISP), we will need the following from you (originals and single sided):

- Two (2) completed rolled fingerprint cards (please use the cards we issue from our office with appropriate codes)
- Completed Self-Declaration & Authorization for Criminal History Check
- Authorization to Investigate & Self Declaration, signed by the applicant in the presence of a NOTARY.
- Completed IDH&W Authorization and Consent to Release Information, signed by the applicant in the presence of a NOTARY. Include a \$20.00 check or money order made to: IDHW for processing.
- > ISP Non-Criminal Justice Applicant Privacy Statement, signed by the applicant.

Please return your fingerprint cards, \$20 check or money order, and completed documents (**single-sided originals**) listed above with your completed DV Evaluator Application packet to:

Idaho Supreme Court Attn: Amber Moe P.O. Box 83720 Boise, Idaho 83720-0101

Fingerprint Card Instructions

All fields on the fingerprint cards must be completed and the cards signed by the applicant, **prior to being fingerprinted**. In order for the criminal records check to be processed, the correct ORI (receiving agency designation) must be on the fingerprint cards. The cards provided to you by the court have the correct ORI. If you use blank fingerprint cards, please make sure you add the correct ORI to the cards. All supporting documentation must accompany the fingerprint cards. ISP requires that the fingerprint cards and supporting documentation listed above is complete prior to processing the criminal history check. The court will not fill in missing information, so your packet will be returned if incomplete, which will result in a processing delay. Criminal history checks usually take between four and six weeks to complete.

Please notarize the Authorization to Investigate and Self-Declaration form. It is important to include all known aliases, including maiden name, where applicable. Send all completed forms and \$20 fee with the fingerprint card (as stated above).

Rolling Prints

If you live outside of Ada County, you may contact your local sheriff's office to arrange for fingerprinting. Please contact ISP at (208) 884-7130 for a list of agencies in your area that provide fingerprinting. Your local law enforcement agency may charge you up to \$10.00 to roll fingerprints. If you live in Ada County, please contact ISP at (208) 884-7130 to make arrangements with them to roll your fingerprints. Please be advised that if some or all of the prints are dark, smudged or otherwise unclear, the FBI may return the fingerprint cards with a request that the prints be re-rolled. This may result in an additional cost and delay in processing.

Sex Offender Registry

In accordance with Idaho Court Administrative Rule 47, court staff will check the Sex Offender Registry as part of your criminal history check.

Updating Criminal History Checks

Idaho Court Administrative Rule 47 requires a criminal history check at least every five (5) years. We will try to keep track of the anniversary date for you; however, Supreme Court registered Evaluators working under I.C.A.R. 75/I.C.R. 33.3 are responsible for making sure they are in compliance with Idaho Court Rules and Statutes and that criminal history checks are updated timely.

If you have any questions or need additional information regarding fingerprints or criminal background check paperwork, please contact me at: swendt@idcourts.net or 947-7456.