Main menu


Special Committee on Judicial Recruitment and Selection


***The application process has concluded for members of the public and of the Idaho State Bar interested in being part of this committee's work. Please watch this page for further updates.***


The Idaho Supreme Court will appoint a special committee to examine ways to improve judicial recruitment in Idaho, including the processes of the Idaho Judicial Council.


This special committee is in keeping with an Idaho tradition of using thoughtful and deliberative processes to address changes to judicial recruitment and selection processes. The committee is expected to work throughout the 2022 calendar year, providing recommendations to shape later reforms.


Committee members are expected to include:

•    two members each appointed by the governor, president pro tempore of the Idaho Senate, and speaker of the Idaho House.

•    two Idaho attorneys.

•    a district judge.

•    a magistrate judge.

•    two members of the public at large.


Listed below are initial documents related to the formation of the committee. Watch this page for further updates as the committee forms and begins its work.


- News Release Announcing Committee


- Letter to Gov. Brad Little, Senate Pro Tem Chuck Winder, House Speaker Scott Bedke


- Application Process for the Special Committee on Judicial Recruitment and Selection


- News Release: Public Can Apply Now to Join Special Supreme Court Committee

As the Third Branch of Government, we provide access to justice through the timely, fair, and impartial resolution of cases.


Members of the
Idaho Supreme Court

Chief Justice G Richard Bevan
Justice Robyn M. Brody
Justice John R. Stegner
Justice Gregory W. Moeller
Justice Colleen D. Zahn

Members of the
Idaho Court of Appeals

Chief Judge Jessica M. Lorello
Judge David W. Gratton
Judge Molly J Huskey
Judge Amanda K. Brailsford



Promoting Openness In The Courts
Do you have suggestions about how we can better serve you?