Main menu(Site Main Menu)

Idaho Rules of Civil Procedure Rule 56(c). Motion for Summary Judgment and Proceedings Thereon.

The motion, affidavits and supporting brief shall be served at least twenty eight (28) days before the time fixed for the hearing. If the adverse party desires to serve opposing affidavits the party must do so at least 14 days prior to the date of the hearing. The adverse party shall also serve an answering brief at least 14 days prior to the date of the hearing. The moving party may thereafter serve a reply brief not less than 7 days before the date of the hearing. The judgment sought shall be rendered forthwith if the pleadings, depositions, and admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law. A summary judgment, interlocutory in character, may be rendered on the issue of liability alone although there is a genuine issue as to the amount of damages. Such judgment, when appropriate, may be rendered for or against any party to the action. The court may alter or shorten the time periods and requirements of this rule for good cause shown, may continue the hearing, and may impose costs, attorney fees and sanctions against a party or the party's attorney, or both. 

 

(Amended March 28, 1986, effective July 1, 1986; amended June 14, 1987, effective November 1, 1987.)

As the Third Branch of Government, we provide access to justice through the timely, fair, and impartial resolution of cases.

 

Members of the
Idaho Supreme Court



Members of the
Idaho Court of Appeals

 

TERMS OF OFFICE


Promoting Openness In The Courts
Do you have suggestions about how we can better serve you?
CLICK HERE